Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, United States of America

Awesome location and staff

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location and view from rooftop bar were over the top -- impossible to find better one. Day staff very friendly and helpful. Very pleasantly surprised to find nice continental breakfast available for us as we had to catch a flight before regular breakfast hours.
Cons: Design of shower door bottom allowed water to flood entire bathroom. Half of rooftop furniture was ratty. Neither of these complaints would prevent me from returning or recommending the hotel.
Location: Everything you want to do in Athens is right close by. Awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
The views from this hotel are hands down the best on Santorini! The staff were extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, calling for taxi's or attending to any need. The breakfast was fantastic as well! If there had to be any con at all, we wished the shuttle to Fira ran more frequently. But taxis are readily available for 8 euros-one way. Also, the wifi is very spotty and goes in and out. However we would definitely stay over and over again at this wonderful hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to everything in Plaka

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Staff went out of their way to assist. Breakfast was plentiful and had no issues checking in or out. Nine euros for bag of laundry is best washing deal in Europe!
Cons: We did not encounter any issues with the Plaka Hotel. Would have no hesitation in recommending and returning.
Location: Wonderful location, close to everything in Plaka. Easy to get around this district and lots of great bars and restaurants. Good shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Sensationally centrally located

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location were phenomenal. No one could have asked for more from either.
Cons: Add a face towel to bath towel and wash cloth.
Location: EVERYTHING is nearby. Plaka shopping, the Acropolis and its museum, Syntagma Square and the gardens. Zeus' Temple and all the best restaurants.
Athens is a small city with little room. I was disappointed with our original room size, so we were immediately moved to a larger room with a balcony with a view of the Parthenon. Who could ask for more! Breakfasts were large and good. The staff was friendly and the hotel was immaculate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Very close to Airport transportation, bars, restaurants and Acropolis. Perfect loctation!
We stayed 2 nights at the Plaka. We thought the room was very comfortable and very spacious ( superior balcony). The location is excellent, 10 minutes from Monastiraki Station, close to restaurants and the Acropolis. The rooftop bar was nice with a great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Location, Great Friendly Staff & Comfortable Room

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Everything was great but especially the staff, the food and the excellent location!
Cons: N/A
Location: Great shopping and restaurants at the Plaka, walk to the Acropolis and the Anceint Agora and many other historical sights are easy to get to as well.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Plaka hotel. The location is amazing- so close to great shopping, the Acropolis, public transportation, and the Ancient Agora. The staff was wonderful- very accommodating, professional and helpful. The rooftop view of the Acropolis is stunning and the breakfast was huge and very tasty! We will definitely go back to this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
We stayed here for two nights before a cruise and it was a wonderful experience. The location was fantastic. Our room had a spectacular view of the Acropolis as did the rooftop terrace where everyone gathered in the evenings for cocktails. Great for sightseeing. Great for shopping. Great for walking in the old town. The room was clean and the breakfast was a great start to the day. We loved it and would stay here again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for stay in Athens!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: breakfast coffee location staff comfortable and clean rooms
Cons: nothing :)
Location: souvlaki row, acropolis, shopping, restaurants, monstiraki square
My husband and I stayed here on our recent honeymoon to Greece. This hotel was great! Staff was amazing, included breakfast was delicious, and importantly, the hotel room was comfortable, clean, and hotel location was perfect for sightseeing in Athens! Also, hotel room was not too loud and AC worked well. My husband is a huge coffee drinker and so he enjoyed being able to have espressos in the morning with breakfast and also in the afternoon when we came back from sightseeing (they offer free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate with cookies during the day!). We also enjoyed the rooftop bar to have a drink in the evening while watching the sun set next to the Acropolis. The hotel was so centrally located that we didn't even have to use public transportation, we just walked everywhere (Acropolis, museums, restaurants). It is also one block down from Athens' famous Souvlaki Row, the perfect place to grab dinner! This hotel definitely caters to tourists, with many travelers from all over the world; lots of Americans and other English speakers. Pleasantly surprised by how well staff members communicated in English with guests. If you are nervous about staying in Greece for this reason, this would be a good hotel for you. I also speak French and heard one staff member speaking with a French couple with ease. This is the perfect hotel for your sightseeing trip to Athens!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Oct 14, 2016
After a long flight from Australia we were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff, Vasilios and Maria. On arrival to our room on the top floor we were greeted with a magnificent view of the acropolis and a tray of Greek sweets, 2 wine glasses and a bottle of red. The room was very nicely decorated, comfortable bed and serviceable bathroom. Special mention for the extra service provided by a staff member at breakfast. She visited all of us at our tables asking if we would like help for our days activities. She helped us with train and ferry bookings, also was available for any other information needed re tours, sights, maps, restaurants etc. A great service we have not seen anywhere else. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Plaka Hotel, being the start of our holiday, everywhere else had a high standard to live up to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Good hotel in ideal location

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, spacious room, helpful staff
Cons: Room's balcony was standing room only and the view was disappointing. Only 3 cooked items available at breakfast.
Location: Great location. Short walk to Syntagma Square and the ancient sites (e.g. Roman Agora, Hadrian's Library). Loads of tavernas nearby.
Very well located hotel. Only a few minutes walk from Syntagma Square where there is the X95 bus stop to/from the airport (6 Euros one way). Hotel is also close to: ancient sites, dozens of tavernas, and a handy supermarket. Our room was spacious and clean, the air conditioning worked well and there was a small fridge to store drinks. We were disappointed with the balcony as it was too small for seats and, in any case, the view was of rooftops - however, I believe some of the rooms have a view of the acropolis. Every day at breakfast there was a member of staff going around the tables asking the guests if they needed help with their travel and sightseeing plans. For breakfast you had a large choice of cold items but only 3 cooked items (2 were always baked beans and scrambled egg, 3rd alternated between bacon and frankfurter-type sausage).