Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: It was very comfortable, very clean, and the staff was excellent. We were very close to all major sight-seeing activities.
Cons: Not anything really, although perhaps a few more choices for breakfast.
Location: We went to the Acropolis, museums, shopping, and many different restaurants. Everything was within walking distance to our hotel.
We relocated to this hotel for an extra 5 days in Athens, after we had been on tour of Greece. The hotel was very nice and in an excellent location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Would be more than happy to return to this hotel. Great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location! Excellent staff!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location and Staff.
Within walking distance to public transportation and most sights. Staff were extra friendly and very helpful. They provided us with directions, maps, and great suggestions. We arrived on the first Sunday of the month and the staff let us know that all the archeological sites were free for the day. They also arranged our transportation to the airport after a brief conversation with a staff member over breakfast. There were great views of the Acropolis from the rooftop. It was a little noisy - church bells.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Excellent hotel which is close to the major attractions. Easy to get to, just get the X95 bus from the airport to Syntagma square (last stop) and then it's a 10 minute walk. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great view of the Acropolis on the rooftop.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Please see above
Cons: Maybe the room temperature setting, it was cold at night. Also, had some problems with the TV as the English channels were very limited
Location: Please see above
First time in Greece for the 3 of us so we wanted to make the most out of our 1 week (short) stay. Staff was accommodating with requests prior to trip ie adjoining rooms, along with the Acropolis view. Discovered that one of the rooms did have a view of the Acropolis, which was great to look at. Breakfast buffet was good - loved the spinach croissant, I think it's called Spanakopita, The staff (public relations) was very helpful, she offered to meet with us after breakfast to maximize our time in Athens. Also met a very nice staff member who always served and replenished the buffet table. The hotel is next to 2 groceries, where you can buy still water at a good price (a must when you're walking a lot), it's also walking distance to the tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping places - just always be mindful of your surroundings. We also enjoyed the coffee/water that was available after hours. Since we were there for a short visit, we decided to go to Santorini over the weekend, and to Delphi the day before we left- early breakfast was always available. Overall, The Plaka hotel is a great place to stay and would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Brilliant location, lovely hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, friendly staff, good buffet breakfast and clean room.
Cons: It was all good.
Location: Walking distance to the Plaka district, the Parthenon, train station and major sites
This hotel was very well located, a short walk from the train station, and from the main sites. It had a lovely view of the Acropolis from the roof top. The buffet breakfast was very tasty. The staff were very friendly and helpful, offering suggestions of places to visit. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We stayed five nights and would definitely stay there again. The complementary tea and coffee during the day was a bonus, as was the early continental breakfast for those leaving early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, England

excellent situation near the Acropolis

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Always stay at the Plaka on my trips to Athens because I love the position, the informality and the friendliness of the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Close to Acropolis, great friendly staff, good size rooms in good condition, definitely value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfy room, love the snack bar

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I only stayed one night. The room was clean and spacious. I had an early flight and appreciated that breakfast was made available as early as needed and there was a snack bar for any time of day. The view of the Acropolis from the terrace was beautiful. The staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Uk Midlands

Good value hotel close to tourist sites.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: We were happy with everything. The roof top view of the Acropolis is stunning.
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: The Acropolis and Acropolis Museum, ancient agora, Kylabettus Hill, Panathenaic Stadium. Wandering through the local streets.
We had a very good 4 nights stay in the Hotel Plaka. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were able to visit all the main historical sites on foot and it was quite easy to find your way around. The local streets are interesting and mainly traffic-free. We found that having a member of staff around at breakfast time to help with our day's arrangements was very useful. We also appreciated being able to use the restaurant for free teas and coffees during the day. It was easy to use the metro from the airport to Monastiriki and to walk from there to the hotel but we used the bus on the way back because there was a morning strike on the metro! The bus journey took about an hour.