Ratings based on 1,881 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Very central location with amazing roof-restaurant

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Hotel room was large but lacked furniture...! We only had 1 very small mirror in the bathroom for the whole room! No bench in the bathroom or anywhere else to leave toiletries. Beds were extremely hard! We had the worst sleep ever in all our travels!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great location, good experience, but not 5-Stars

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Great location for the hotel, not too comfortable, the service could be better. In general, good experience. Was in a lot better 5-stars hotels, feels more like 4.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr schönes Hotel in Stadtmitte!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Das Frühstücksbuffet auf der Dachterasse mit Blick auf den Tempel des olympischen Zeus sowie die Akropolis ist der Hammer!
Cons: Die Badezimmerausstattung könnte eine Erneuerung gebrauchen und es dauert lange, bis warmes Wasser kommt.
Location: 10min Fußweg zur Akropolis oder Syntagma-Platz, direkt am Tempel des olympischen Zeus, direkt an einem Park - ich war überrascht, wie grün es dort war
Wir waren für ein verlängertes Wochenende in Athen und hatten das Hotel per Empfehlung von Athenern gewählt - ausserdem sah es im Internet gut aus und hatte - zurecht - gute Bewertungen. Alles da, was man braucht, sehr schöne Lobby, Pool, Dachterasse für Frühstück und Bar. Das Zimmer fand ich durchschnittlich aber völlig in Ordnung. Sauberkeit ebenfalls in Ordnung. Die Badezimmerausstattung ist schon ein bißchen in die Jahre gekommen aber kein Grund zur Unzufriedenheit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Gorgeous view from our room and the rooftop bar

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Good staff nice room and location spoke English loved our stay. Was upgraded and treated very well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
I thought the photos of the hotel didn't do justice to the hotel, I also thought it was a bit outdated for the price I paid. Comfortable beds, lovely stuff and nice breakfast!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Royal Olympic Hotel Athens

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Close to all tourist attractions
Cons: They need to update rooms
Nice hotel and centrally located and walking distance to the Plaka area for dinner etc. The hotel has old world charm but the bedlinen, towels and rooms are dated and tired looking! They need to update their bedlinen etc as for a 5 star hotel you would expect a lot more!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Very impressed

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Upon arrival we got upgraded to a room with a view of the Zeus temple... Amazing! The staff was very friendly and has great English, the room was very spacious and clean and the bathroom huge and beautiful. I've stayed in many European and American hotels and this one did not disappoint. It's a short walk away from the Acropolis and the center of the city. We were extremely happy with our stay and the overall experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location & facilities, but below avg room

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Hotel has a very good location, very friendly staff and excellent facilities. For an executive suite room we booked, it was small, conjusted and had a small bathroom. We found there are other choices close by that offer better choice for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Elegance

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Everything. Breakfast buffet has a large selection. The pool has change rooms with WC.
Cons: Our bathroom had mould on the ceiling a fan would prevent this as it got very muggy when showering and things would take a long time to dry.
Location: Walking distance to Plaka, the Acropolis and it's museum, Lycabettus and the Parliament.
After a terrible experience at another hotel in Athens we came to the Royal Olympic. The check in time is not until 3 pm and our flight arrived at 10 am. We were able to leave our luggage in their secure lockup and use all the hotels facilities until our room was ready. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooftop restaurant is a lovely place to enjoy meals or just have a drink and enjoy the gorgeous views of Athens. Various areas where you can sit in comfort read or watch TV or enjoy the company of others. This is very convenient as the rooms are small and our room only had one comfortable chair in which to sit
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor customer service

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: The roof top dinning area with the view
Cons: Need to expand the front desk area to accommodate the volume of guests. Need more training for all the customer service.
Location: Acropolis, very far from beaches and airport. Taxi to/from airport cost us 40-50 Euro one way
The front desk customer service needs to be more consistant. It appeared some are worst then others. Not consistency with their knowledge and experience. The line was really long at time. I was with a small tour group. First guy found my name but room not ready, an hour later, second guy said still not ready. An hour later, third guy said couldn't find our name. The tour group put two single in one room. He insisted that the name is under my roomate last name and not mine. I booked an extra night. When I check in I already told them to put me in the room so that I don't have to move for that extra night. Sure enough they didn't do it. When it comes to that extra day, two different guys called and harressed me to move. Finally they left me alone after I told them that I have an early flight out.