Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Very rude front desk. Would not recommend. Very rude when checking out, and could not accommodate an early check in (we were 30 minutes early)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Rude staff!

Posted Jun 7, 2016
We checked into our hotel room at 9:30 PM for a simple overnight stay. We had to get up very early the next morning so we went to bed quickly to get some sleep. The front desk called our room at 11:30 PM and said that he had forgotten to charge our room to my credit card. When I explained that I had been sleeping and asked if it could be taken care of in the morning I was simply told "NO!" Staff was extremely rude and callous to customers needs.
4 out of 5
by Pete

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore MD

Smoking Rooms Stink

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I am a non-smoker who accidentally booked a smoking room. The Super 8 in Athens might have been better if I had not made a mistake on the Expedia site. The furniture was burned by cigarettes, and it smelled horrible. Breakfast was lame. The manager was efficient but not very helpful when we requested a non-smoking room. The hotel was very busy that night.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic lodging. Nothing more.

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Clean room. Price.
Cons: Worlds worst cinnamon rolls. Bar soap left a film on skin that was difficult to rinse off.
Location: Nothing close. Several mile drive to nearest food or service area.
I only needed a basic, inexpensive place to spend the night and this provided it. The view of the auto junkyard that was only a few feet from my room was breathtaking!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Richmond, OH

Nasty Man at Front Desk!!!

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Clean and refurbished. Good water pressure with soft water.
Cons: Hire a nice person for the front desk. Install an elevator and a few accessible rooms. Expand breakfast.
Location: At the end of the main drag of Athens. Near the Farmer's market.
I arrived late in the evening with my elderly parents and a service dog. Two of us are disabled. The parking near the front door was adequate but this hotel does not have an elevator nor handicapped accessible rooms.Their policy states dogs cannot be in the lobby area (necessitating an excruciating walk up two flights of stairs). The man was unfriendly to start and surly when I questioned if my credit card had been charged already when I made the reservation. He accused me of not giving him my ID (I knew I had) and was not the least bit apologetic when he finally found it beneath his papers. I truly felt demeaned by his attitude. The property itself has been refurbished but the breakfast was minimal. The room looked over a junky storage facility. We spent over $200 on the two rooms but the experience was that of a flea-bag hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Front Desk I have ever dealt with.

Posted Nov 13, 2015
The title says it all. It needs new owners, someone who cares to hire good people.