Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location for doing business in Athens,

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Very, very clean which is most important to me. Breakfast had no protein such as eggs or yogurt which was a little disappointing. No fitness center. However I would stay there again because it was so clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Affordable stay

Posted Feb 17, 2018
I don't like the fact that there are smoking rooms on the same floor as non-smoking rooms. Bad idea. Very offensive to a non-smoker. Also, there was mold on the ceiling in the shower. Potential health hazard. Other than that, the hotel was clean. Affordable convenience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Basic Super 8 But Owner was Cold and Unwelcoming

Posted Jan 19, 2018
Cons: Better customer service
Stayed here last year when visiting a few friends in town. I did not like the Athens Super 8 at all. The room was okay for the most part: it had hot water and the bed was reasonably comfortable. I did not like the owner at all. Very rude with no people skills. It seemed like I was bothering him when it was just a basic check-in at a hotel. Didn't get it at all. When I walked into the hotel, it looked like a prison (no joke) so it's very unwelcoming. Worst of all, he did not thank me for staying there. That is totally unacceptable in the hospitality business, especially when I spent at least 3 nights there. When I come to visit again in the Spring, I will fork over a little extra and stay at a better hotel in town. There are definitely better options and I will not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Comfortable

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: The comfy bed.
Cons: Even though it was only two floors, an elevator would have been beneficial. My husband had a hard time on the stairs due to heart issues.
Nothing really negative, Staff could have been a bit friendlier, but not a big deal I guess. Bed was really comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Room was clean. Check in was easy and fast. Breakfast was adequate.
5 out of 5
by Tara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Diane M

Not a friendly welcome

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
I accidentally booked an accessible, smoking room when I wanted non-smoking. The desk clerk was not friendly - she seemed angry at me for questioning it. She said she only had non-smoking rooms on the 2nd floor. I can't do stairs with my luggage, so I took the smoking room - the smell was strong. There were zero ashtrays in the room, but it was clearly a smoking room. I use a CPAP machine and when I got home, my machine still smelled of smoke. When I reclined against the pillows and headboard reading a book, I got some bites on the back of my neck that are still there 48 hours later.
4 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

OU visit

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Typical Super 8. Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was limited.
5 out of 5
by craig

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and comfortable. Not a lot of amenities but that was expected.