Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Richmond, OH

Nasty Man at Front Desk!!!

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: Clean and refurbished. Good water pressure with soft water.
Cons: Hire a nice person for the front desk. Install an elevator and a few accessible rooms. Expand breakfast.
Location: At the end of the main drag of Athens. Near the Farmer's market.
I arrived late in the evening with my elderly parents and a service dog. Two of us are disabled. The parking near the front door was adequate but this hotel does not have an elevator nor handicapped accessible rooms.Their policy states dogs cannot be in the lobby area (necessitating an excruciating walk up two flights of stairs). The man was unfriendly to start and surly when I questioned if my credit card had been charged already when I made the reservation. He accused me of not giving him my ID (I knew I had) and was not the least bit apologetic when he finally found it beneath his papers. I truly felt demeaned by his attitude. The property itself has been refurbished but the breakfast was minimal. The room looked over a junky storage facility. We spent over $200 on the two rooms but the experience was that of a flea-bag hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Front Desk I have ever dealt with.

Posted Nov 13, 2015
The title says it all. It needs new owners, someone who cares to hire good people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Middle of nowhere and not overly polite

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: Staff could have a little personality and make at least a token effort to explain amenities.
Location: Located at the end of East State Street, so not far from shopping (Walmart, two small shopping malls) and restaurants, and a few miles from campus.
Upon arrival, the desk attendant/manager was bland and terse. It was clear this was simply a business transaction. He looked up my reservation, asked for my ID and credit card and then gave me a sheet that asked from my car description and license plate number. No "welcome to Super 8", no explanation of continental breakfast, no disclosure of wireless access code (I called down to the desk on a barely audible room phone to get the password). And all of this was amplified by the ridiculous rate ($185) I was gouged for because it was OU Dad's Weekend. For a room on the outskirts of town with a view of an auto junkyard directly outside my window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A port in the storm

Posted Nov 9, 2015
It was nice to have a room available for a parents' weekend. Relatively convenient, but on the outskirts a bit. It was very clean and quiet. What you would expect from a Super8 Hotel. I would have no problem staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel sassy managenent

Posted Nov 2, 2015
The manager was rude, the hotel ran out of blankets, and no sort of vending machines or anything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Bait and switch hotel next to a junk yard

Posted Oct 26, 2015
I booked a Super 8 in Athens, OH for one night. At the time I neglected to check nonsmoking. When I arrived I tried to switch to nonsmoking and the clerk said he couldn't change things as I had booked with Expedia. He clerk was rude and obnoxious and said it was my fault and he didn't have any available ns rooms. He started to check me in and "found" a ns room at only double the cost. Due to a tight budget I declined. Clerk said I'd be sorry as the room really stinks. He was right. I woke during the night and my throat was burning and felt like I couldn't breathe. When I woke I looked at the nightstand where there were bugs crawling over the surface. I went down for breakfast (which was not up to the standards of other motels) and attempted to tell the clerk at the desk re the bugs. She stated they did not have bugs, were very clean and I didn't see any. She ended up leaving in a huff and did not send anyone to the room. I quickly checked out. I travel quite often; have never stayed at a Super 8 and will never again. Oh, my price was $10 higher than your confirmed price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trumbull, CT

Smoking Yuck!

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Hotel put us in a smoking room. I insisted we did not request a smoking room and they could not change our room. The room smelled so awful even after we sprayed it with Lysol over and over. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outside of Athens OH

Posted Oct 19, 2015
The room was clean, etc. but the Manager that checked us in and out was loud, argumentative, flat out lied, and was very offensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Stay at Super 8, Athens, Ohio on Sept. 28, 2015

Posted Sep 30, 2015
My stay was fine. The only issue was that Expedia booked me a smoking room, which I did not notice on the reservation form. I am a confirmed non-smoker. Fortunately the manager was able to switch me to a non-smoking room. The manager informed me that the "default" type of room with Expedia seems to be a smoking room. Since there are more nonsmokers than smokers, I would think that a nonsmoking room would be a better choice as the default type of room. In future I will be sure to specify a nonsmoking room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last available room in Athens for parents weekend

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: convenient
Cons: Pricing
Location: near Ohio University
Price was out of line for value - should have been about $100 a night.