Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice accommodations but noisy

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: It was conveniently located.
Cons: Staff could be better informed. I called in advance to ask if parking was included with my room and was assured that it was, but then I was charged.
My room was at the end of a hallway near a large, hard-surfaced area where a group of young men were behaving like residents in a stereotypical college dorm. There volume and language ware obnoxious and ruined my plans for a restful evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experiences during your stay. i'm disappointed that we were unable to provide you with a restful evening and will review your comments with my staff in the hopes that we can eliminate these types of issues in the future. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a positive experience the next time your travels bring you to Athens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Very nice accommodations right on UGA campus

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Helpful staff and dinner at the hotel's Savannah Restaurant was fabulous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We constantly strive to provide a unique, positive experience to all our guests and I'm so happy we were able to accomplish this during your stay with us. I will share you comments with my team and thank them for working hard to make your visit a success. I hope when your travels bring you back to Athens we'll have the opportunity to serve you once again. Bill
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Athens

Posted May 24, 2014
Staff was great and the rooms are spotless. The location is unbeatable! The only catch is that the room size may be smaller than most are used to, but it is an older building. This shouldn't be a reason for not staying there!
1 out of 5
by Tracie

Problems with Expedia and UGA Conference Center

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: nothing - the BEDS WERE VERY HARD! JUST HORRIBLE
Cons: They need new mattresses!
Location: location great
I booked my hotel stay at the UGA Conf Center on-line with Expedia. When I arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk stated they had my reservation but had collected no money for the stay. I explained I had already provided my credit card information to Expedia when I booked but that did not seem to matter. I reluctantly gave them my credit card & stated that I would check my card company to ensure I was not being charged twice for the room. Then my husband, son, and I proceeded to the room. When we opened the door there was only one queen bed. We all went back down to the registration desk & I informed them I had booked a room with 2 queen beds (the picture on Expedia beside the rate showed 2 queen beds). Not only did they tell me that they did NOT have any rooms with 2 queen beds, they said the only room left had two doubles but would have to charge me $20 per night MORE! While the manager on duty apologized, he said they accept no responsibility for the pictures that Expedia uses and could not honor what I had booked. This was SO NOT what I wanted to hear or deal with after being on the road for 7 hours straight. I asked them why did they allow Expedia to book rooms for them if they do NOT honor or stand by the information posted on Expedia's site. Then a very rude brunette behind the desk butted into the conversation & started repeatedly saying "we are governmental" in a hysterical voice. We were too tired to fight. We took the room with 2 doubles & paid more money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant but a bit Spartan

Posted May 4, 2014
Great service and staff. Little bit of a hike to downtown, but shuttle service was awesome. Great if you need to be on UGA campus. Rooms a little basic, but good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

UGA Hotel and Conference Center

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable, close to campus, decent value for the price. 3 star hotel I would think. This is not a boutique hotel though.
Cons: Decor could be refreshed a bit in the common areas.
Location: Walking distance to both Sanford Stadium (5 minutes) and downtown (20 minutes). 5 points is around the corner.
The hotel is right in the center of UGA campus, primarily used for conferences and UGA football games. It's about a 15-20 minute pleasant walk through campus to downtown Athens. The hotel lobby was nice and the surrounding area is too. The room was okay, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, the place was quiet, the room was small but we didn't spend too much time there so that was not really an issue. The only thing I thought wasn't great was the hallways and some other details looked worn out and tired. The paint looked old and you could see patched up places in walls, etc. With millions of football dollars streaming into the university every weekend, you would think they could spring for some new carpet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on campus

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Nice hotel close to stadium great staff and close to many restaurants in five points area of Athens only thing we didn't like was our king room was extremely small for my taste but overall great place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good base to explore Athens

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Location: Lots of great restaurants in town. The botanical gardens are just outside of town. Plus a pretty interesting and not too long a drive to Augusta.
A spacious, sprawling, clean, unpretentious facility with very friendly staff. Hotel does not have a lot of personalty, but that was not what we expected. Parking is convenient as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place....short walk to Sanford stadium....

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Small room, but very nice hotel for the price. Convenient location, good food options on site. Nice court yard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LB from Atlanta, GA

Great location!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location! Once we parked in the adjacent garage, never needed the car. Coffee service (with real mugs) and fridge.
Cons: Outlets. General updating of the rooms.
Location: On UGA campus. Easy walk to stadium and downtown as well are dorms and greek housing.
spent very little time at the hotel itself, as we were in Athens for an off-site event. Staff very friendly and helpful. There were other events taking place in Conf. Ctr and hotel but it was nice and quiet in guest rooms. Reserved and received a queen room. (one bed). Wished there were outlets available for cell charger. Only outlet we could reach was in bathroom, and counter is very (very!) small. Bathroom sink not the ideal place for phone charging.