Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Jan 14, 2018
I just spent 2 weeks at the B&B. All in all I had a positive experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. My only comments are it can be a bit noisy at times as the floors aren’t carpet and it seemed the walls may be a bit thin, but it was manageable and not so much it would prevent me from returning. Keep in mind the rooms are on the cooler side (keeping in mind I was there in winter, but it didn’t seem like you could turn up the heat in the rooms from what I saw. However, in fairness I also didn’t ask so that could be wrong) so if you’re someone who tends toward being cold (like me) it may be beneficial to bring a couple thin/fleece blankets (which I already had with me from the flight so I didn’t ask for more from the staff). The breakfasts are delicious and they do have a variety available, including a full Irish breakfast. Athlone is a southern middle of Ireland which allowed me to travel to most areas within 2 hours. Keep in mind that if you plan on seeing Giants Causeway or the Dark Hedges, they’re in Northern Ireland and its about 4.5 hours one way. The area around the B&B has food options, both Irish (pub/restaurants) and fast food so options are available. Golden Island Shopping Plaza is within close proximity and many places are within walking distance. If you stay here, I suggest making sure you have a smaller vehicle (rental) as the parking lot behind the B&B, as well as the entry to/from it, is narrow and only accommodates 1 vehicle width with very space beyond
5 out of 5
by Jacinta

Short break away

Posted Dec 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great central location, room was nice an cosy. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sligo

Hidden gem

Posted Dec 2, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything
Location: So central... Two minutes walk to both shopping centres..
What a fabulous hidden secret of accommodation in the heart of Athlone. This spotless well furnished apartment was relaxing, warm, and excellently minded. The welcome by staff was amazing. Worth every excellent given will be recommending this place to all . Thank you for such a fab stay. So relaxing
4 out of 5
by Mr D D Rai

Posted Nov 29, 2017 on Hotels
very pleasant stay very good value would stay here again thanks guy's :)
4 out of 5
by Barry

Lovely B&B

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Hotels
It was a lovely, convenient B&B
5 out of 5
by Emma

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

The people and the food were lovely

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The people.
Cons: The sound levels
Overall, I think they were having a bad day. Their wifi was broken, so one of the employees let me into the office where there was a second wifi I could use, but that did not allow me all evening access to making reservations and researching plans. The room was clean and comfortable, but I had just come from a retreat on Inis Mor and was used to quiet and calm. It seemed every noise was amplified... above, below, around me sounds of crying baby, people arriving, chairs scraping across floors, rattles that sounded like they were coming through the walls. By 10pm it calmed down and was pretty quiet all night. My bed was clean and comfortable, but there was no desk or chair in the room. I noticed another room did have a desk, so they are available. The breakfast offerings were good. It was okay, but I did not stay a second night as planned. I could still recommend it to a friend, but not without qualifications.
4 out of 5
by Maeve

Lovely stay.

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely B&B, friendly and welcoming. No issue with us arriving late and coming in late. As we were attending a wedding. Also very central to everything in Athlone.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to everything downtown.

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Orbitz
This was an older but nice place downtown. We parked our car and was able to walk everywhere.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Ebookers
Clean friendly and located perfectly in athlone, rooms are really comfortable, and food was excellent, hope to book again when we come back.