Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

My favourite in Athlone.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: I like the breakfast, also they serve a very reasonably priced evening meal in the bar.
Cons: I think there could be more light in the bedrooms,
Location: Its 7 minutes to walk to Sean's Bar, one of the most famous and claims to be the oldest pub in Ireland. In the summer months they have live music.
This is a comfortable modern hotel with a lively bar, plenty of parking. This hotel has been there for a very long time and the style though modern is a bit 1930's cruise liner. There are photos on the wall of Grace Kelly, there were some in the past of the Ethyopian Royal Family. I find this place great value for money plus a better breakfast than all the other hotels in Athlone. The only reason it is not so popular is its a short walk (about 10 mins) from the town centre on the west bank.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Meath

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Easy walking distance of centre. Old style family hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Good for the price

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We stayed as a budget stop on our trip through Ireland. The hair dryers seemed to be a more dated type (or at least unfamiliar to us Canadians) attached to the wall and wasn't too effective. We had been upgraded to 2 bedroom suite upon arrival because there were no other rooms available, so that was exciting! However the water pump in the closet kicked in every minute so we had to keep the utilities turned off to keep sane. And we found the lighting in the living room area really poor. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were a good size. For the price I think it was a fair deal. Good for a sleep, which is all we needed. Cheap breakfast too in a big restaurant area and really friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

They had rooms

Posted Jul 23, 2017
It was nice. Better than staying in downtown Athlone...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Excellent well cared hotel.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
We had a great deal getting this beautiful hotel walking distance to Athlone Castle and surrounding areas.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Grainne Egan

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
No hot water arrival, only after we complain and I had to ask we got breakfast vouchers. Smell of damp in the bar just old musty. My double bed was 2 singles pushed together not comfortable. The staff were very helpful overall and professional. The hotel was way over priced for its accommodation standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay.

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Service very good. A little noisy at night. Enjoyable stay . Would recommend.
5 out of 5
by Tara

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Shamrock Lodge Hotel. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was clean and very nice. We would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Graham

Great location and a busy and popular hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel is a 5-10 minute work from Athlone Castle and main shops, pubs and restaurants so no need to use the car. The bedroom window looked out onto shrubbery which hid the car-park. The bed was very large and comfortable. Evening meals were well cooked and the staff pleasant. With your keycard you are given enough breakfast 'vouchers' for your stay, the breakfast is buffet style and plenty of it. The one shame though and it is the same with many hotels etc is that the sealing around sinks and baths needed replacing, not a hard or long job but with a large hotel time consuming also some carpet had been worn through on the stairs, that though would possibly be a bigger job. It's a shame as it would elevate the visual experience of your stay. Although there is a internet cable and plug in the room our Apple products do not contact with a network cable but there is free Wi-Fi which is fast. Yes we enjoyed the 3 nights nights we had there and would book again in future.