Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NS, Canada

Average hotel in a bad area

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The hotel itself was dirty, there was garbage and a dirty facecloth left from the pervious guest and overall the location was awful. The neighbourhood was not safe and the taxi driver from the airport was not familiar with the area even. It did not look like anything in the pictures.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was just okay. Tolerable

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: It seemed like it had character due to it's age. Outside building looks nice but inside was not what I expected.
Cons: Attitude of the staff/be more polite with customer service. Appropriate wi-fi signal as advertised. Shampoo the carpeting, provide bath stopper in tub
Location: Too far away from the downtown area to be able to walk safely, without being hassled.
Hotel carpet was not clean. Wi-Fi had a very poor/slow signal. Hotel staff could not provide one plastic knife to cut a bagel and excessive time to respond to the request. Ignored questions asked and seemed bothered while talking on the phone about personal issues. Bottle of curl activator left out on the breakfast counter during the entire duration of my stay. Too many confrontational people roaming around pan handling outside after dark. Not a great experience for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Convenient to downtown

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Convenience to downtown, next door to Paschal's restaurant
Cons: Appearance of interior hallways
Location: Close to downtown
My goal in choosing a hotel for this trip was to find one close to downtown at a reasonable price, and this hotel met both of those criteria. No serious complaints, the outside of the hotel and the common areas are nice, and the rooms themselves are okay, not awesome but at least they're clean. I found the shower difficult to operate, I've never seen a mechanism like the one in our bathroom to get the water to come out of the shower head. The only minor issue I had was the condition of the interior hallways; they were so dingy I felt like I was in some sort of shabby apartment building. To be fair, this did not seem to be a matter of cleanliness, it might have been just the particular type of carpet or paint that was there that gave that effect, but nevertheless for me it took away from what was otherwise a pleasant hotel experience. Still, having said all of that, the good outweighed the bad. A very big plus during our stay was being so close to Paschal's restaurant, where we ate a couple of times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown and the Georgia Dome

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Its location and the staff.
Cons: The rooms need to be repainted and new carpets possibly.
Location: Its close to downtown and really close to the Georgia Dome/Mercedes Benz Stadium. Also close to a great restaurant called The Smoke Ring.
I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, but because it was a last minute trip I had to take what was available and I'm glad I did. I stayed here for two nights. The room had some stains on the carpet and the walls need to be repainted, but other than that it was nice.The bed was really nice and clean. The staff was friendly. The walls are thin, but I didn't have any problems with noisy neighbors or anything. Breakfast was your typical continental breakfast. I would stay there again for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

quiet hotel with very large suites.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, large suites
Cons: Needs a chain lock on the door and a larger breakfast area.
Location: short drive to peachtree street. not much close by.
The Castleberry was a nice hotel that though a bit shabby met all my needs. The king suite was very large and i had alot of space. Staff that I met were very nice. The continental breakfast was adequate but the space was tight. It was close enough to the downtown to cost $6-$8 each way but was quiet in the evenings. Only a couple of restaurants in walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Dirty but ok

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Close to town, great staff,but rooms were very dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great location, very accessible to downtown. Hotel staff is excellent, however rooms are a bit shabby. Has a nice lot and overflow lot. Continental breakfast was included from 6:30am-9:30am including pastries, cereal, waffles, fruit, bagels, granola bars, coffee, milk, and juice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Close to downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and large, but the TV is a joke
Cons: build a new one
Location: Very convenient location if you need to work downtown, AmericasMart for example.
Totally run down location both interior and exterior. Horrible breakfast even worst coffee. Terrible, ugly and extremely unfriendly service at the restaurant. Would never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Do yourself a favor - do not stay here.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Randy at the front desk was trying very hard to please guests as other guests had the same reaction as we did when they arrive.
Cons: EVERYTHING
Having never been to Atlanta, and finding no rooms available due to an event in the area, we booked here. The lobby was filthy. They were renovating the facility and had no wifi in the rooms, which had not been told to us before we arrived. The room had not been cleaned from the last guest - or if it had - it needed a new cleaning. I rarely complain about anything, but I would have slept on the street before I slept in this establishment. We cancelled our reservation and found another place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Looks nice in the picture but a little warn down

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: It was the only one available
Cons: Some paint and décor, new beds and air fragrance. The continental breakfast could be updated and watched a little more. There was no coffee left.
Location: Not far from the Mart. Didn't see anything else.
I arrived around 8 pm the hallways were a little scary, the bed was hard. In the morning I went to take a shower and it would not work. When I told the desk they said, you have to put your hand under the water faucet and shake it . I asked about a taxi and was told that several were on there way. Most were ubers for customers. Five to fifteen minutes turned into a half hour or more and already had guest in it but made room for me. They recommended the restaurant for dinner, 2 1/2 hours for a single person to eat is outrageous. Hostess was great but waiter was terrible.