Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: 24 hour elevator repair service!
Only one elevator and it was broke! Carrying your luggage and helping an elderly person up to the 3rd floor was not ideal! Staff was very apologetic and offered to assist but they were the only one there and had guests waiting to check in. We would have canceled but had purchased through Expedia and didn't know how it would be to get a refund!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The hotel was nice and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from athens, ga

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Stayed here with our two girls that had a tennis tournament a half mile down the street at Hudlow Tennis Center. It was convenient, beds with super comfy and the staff very nice. Would stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst country inn ever

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Manager was rude as was one of the hotel desk clerks. There was lots of hair on floors and on the bedding the Windows didn't work not dos they lock properly and the toilet didn't flush properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2015 by Manish Jariwala, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. Please trust I am looking in to the comments you have extended with regards to your experience at the front desk. Also, we will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst country inn ever

Posted Dec 27, 2015
He manager was rude as well As one of he night hotel front desk clerks. police were called several times during my stay for unruly guests who we're loud and smoking marijuana . Windows dos not work and wouldn't lock, issues with the toilet and also room cleanliness
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Very comfortable

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Speedy check in after driving over 10 hours, then finding a clean room and comfortable bed to climb into.
Cons: Just making sure housekeeping is taking that extra minute to check throughout the room for things left behind, dirty linen, etc.
Location: I didn't get a chance to explore this time around but passing by, there were several things I will look into on my next visit.
We only did a night stay this time, but our family used this hotel (different location, same comfort & hospitality) for a wedding and the staff was awesome, the hotel & parking were in great shape, pleasing to the eye and anything brought to hotel staff was addressed immediately. We had clean linens, comfortable bedding, plenty of towels, and breakfast was a nice touch to start our morning out. Anyone who is looking for a nice hotel with reasonable rates, great staff and speedy check-in & out, will want to visit this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2015 by hp, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your extensive review of our hotel and that it will help with our future guests too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norcross, Ga

Must See! Had A Top Notch Experience!

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Very nice hotel. My 12 year old daughter want a slumber party. The hotel was nice. The staff was great. And the breakfast was to die for. Waffles, muffins, sausage, eggs, oat meal, juice and much more. Just an awesome experience. Thumbs up
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2015 by hp, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive feedback
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Dirty Hotel & not near attractions

Posted Aug 17, 2015
This dirty Hotel claimed to be 7 miles from Stone Mountain although it is really 14 miles away. There was a spilled over fruit bowl outside of the front door of the hotel lobby for 2 days. The toilet seat was cracked & there was brown material on the shower curtain. I wouldn't have put a dog in the roll out bed it was so disgusting. We sent the bed back anyway because it wouldn't have fit in the room. We were not greeted upon arrival and we had to wait 10 minutes for someone to come back to the front desk to check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2015 by Manish Jariwala, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, We appreciate you taking the time share your experience and we apologize that you were not satisfied at our hotel during your stay. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be considered for improvements in the future..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FAMILY TRIP TO ATLANTA

Posted Aug 6, 2015
ROOMS WAS OK BUT WHAT REALLY UPSET ME IS BREAKFAST BOTH MORNINGS AT 8:30 AND 9:00AM WERE OUT OF BREAD AND WAFFLES ASKED LADY BOTH MORNINGS AND ALL I GOT WAS OK THANKS!!!!! SAW ANOTHER CUSTOMER ASK ASWELL AND WAS TOLD SAME THING OK THANK BY SAME LADY SHE GOES IN THE BACK BRINGS 2 PIECES OF TOAST FOR HERSELF TOASTS THEM GOES BACK TO KITCHEN AND NEVER COMES BACK OUT REALLY DISSAPPOINTED OTHER THAT JUST AN OK PLACE
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2015 by Manish Jariwala, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback regarding our your stay. I truly regret to hear the breakfast experience you had and that we did not meet your expectations. I am going to look into this immediately and ensure that this does not happen again. My breakfast attendant & rest of the staff is trained to ensure that during breakfast hours, all guests needs are well taken care of and also ensure that the food is properly replenished. I am sorry that it did not happen during your stay. I shall try figure out if this happened to be one of my non English speaking housekeeping staff member and hence the unintended service issues. Regardless, please accept my sincerest apology on behalf of all of us at the hotel. I will go over this with my team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service moving forward. With Regards, Manish
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

It was ok

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Staff wasn't the friendliest. I called downstairs in the morning to get towels and they never came. After waiting 30 minutes I went down to get them myself. Hallways smelled like stale cigarettes but the room was fine. Breakfast wasn't the freshest and had very little variety. I wouldn't stay here again but it was ok for one night just passing through.