Ratings based on 2,052 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Convienent, Clean,Centrally Located Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Great location and staff
I stayed here for a few days while attending a trade show at the Georgia World Congress Center. It's a great location downtown, about a 10 minute walk from the convention center and Philips Arena and just a bit further to the Aquarium and Coke World. It was also just 2 blocks from the nearest Marta station which I used to get from the airport to the hotel. The hotel itself is undergoing renovations at the moment. My room was in the redone tower and it had a modern feel to it and was very clean. You couldn't hear or see any of the construction going on. I liked that my room came with a mini-fridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay but..

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay -- the hotel had nice rooms, great bathrooms, comfortable beds, and a friendly staff. However when we got there we found out we had to pay $34 a day for a non-optional valet parking because they were doing construction and had nowhere for guests to park. The construction crew also made a lot of noise during the morning so I found it difficult to sleep in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

In the heart of downtown

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Great stay, everyone was friendly, only thing I needed were for the pillows to be a little firmer but other than that I would definitely recommend this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Not a Fancy Hotel But Definitely Gets the Job Done

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff were all very friendly and we loved the welcome cookie. The location can't be beat.
Cons: nothing
Location: Very close to Centennial Park, World of Coca Cola, Georgia Aquarium, Phillips Stadium, CNN. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
We were in town for a conference that was being held at the Hilton and wanted to find a convenient location to the conference and places to eat and explore and we definitely got all of that and more from the Double Tree. This used to be a different hotel back in the past and you are able to see pictures of that old hotel in the rooms and areas around the elevator. I like that the Double Tree has kept the story of the building's past throughout the hotel. Yes, the lobby looks a little dated in the design but when you see the pictures, you understand. I believe they are in the process of renovating the rooms as well and I had one that has been updated. The rooms are clean and modern looking. I like the fact that they offer free wifi in the rooms and each one has a mini fridge to store drinks in. The bathrooms were bright and spacious. As for the location, it can't be beat. I felt like it was in the perfect location for us - just a short 10 minute walk to the Hilton where the convention was held, less than 10 minute walk to Centennial Park, World of Coca-Cola, and the Georgia Aquarium, less than a 10 minute walk to the MARTA station. And there were a plethora of places to choose from when it comes to eating. We were extremely satisfied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, tn

Not terrible, under renovations right now

Posted Jan 24, 2017
We didn't arrive till after 3pm, was told they had no rooms ready yet (my trip was already paid for) took about 20 mins for them to find a room ready. Everyone arriving was offered cookies and waters to take with them, we were not offered anything. There is no vending machines so if you do not bring your own drinks you will pay $2 for a little water. The room itself was nice. Great view of downtown. Clean. Awesome fixtures. No microwaves. I wish they had those. The air conditioning whistled but otherwise worked just fine. Great location, right close to everything. I think after the renovations are done and staff is better trained it will be better. Just the initial checking in experience didn't start it off great but I would stay again for sure once everything is done there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Close to AmericasMart

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Front desk and restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed and undertrained. Attitude projected was that everything was about them. In the restaurant at breakfast, I watched a gentleman dressed in a suit stand behind the bar and talk to the waitresses and watch TV ... I assumed he worked there ... while the waitresses did all the work, the only thing he did for the 45 minutes I was there was to change the station on the TV ... when I pay a premium rate at a hotel, this is not what I want to see.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no hat water

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: staff was great
Cons: HOT WATER
staff works hard but renovation project management is a joke, many room without hot water Construction supervision is a mess
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Under remodel....STAY AWAY! Nothing worked

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Close it down until renovations are finished
They should not be offering any rooms while renovating the hotel. Air system was spotty and loud, ran out of hot water, rooms to the key did not work, had to change keys several times, changed room once during the three day stay because heat and hot water were not available. Staff was friendly and helpful but were overwhelmed due to all the problems, every guest I spoke with had the same issues. Great location but not a pleasant stay at all, if other hotels were available I would have changed. Thanks Julio
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

MY Stay at Double Tree Downtown Atlanta!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The easy access to the elevator.
Cons: No to rent unit the complete renovation is done!
Location: Great location!
Well, first of all no bell man. (Only Valets) . Checking in was a little slow. The Elevator was needed cleaning. The room was a little small for a King size bed and the walls were thin we heard every conversation from both rooms. To top it off the hot water in the sink took minutes to warm up. Furniture was very old. A total waste of money. Comfort Inns rooms were better. Valet parking fee to much!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
This will be a great hotel when renovations are done, but being woken up at 8AM because the renovations are starting for the day sucks!