Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, tn

Not terrible, under renovations right now

Posted Jan 24, 2017
We didn't arrive till after 3pm, was told they had no rooms ready yet (my trip was already paid for) took about 20 mins for them to find a room ready. Everyone arriving was offered cookies and waters to take with them, we were not offered anything. There is no vending machines so if you do not bring your own drinks you will pay $2 for a little water. The room itself was nice. Great view of downtown. Clean. Awesome fixtures. No microwaves. I wish they had those. The air conditioning whistled but otherwise worked just fine. Great location, right close to everything. I think after the renovations are done and staff is better trained it will be better. Just the initial checking in experience didn't start it off great but I would stay again for sure once everything is done there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Close to AmericasMart

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Front desk and restaurant staff seemed overwhelmed and undertrained. Attitude projected was that everything was about them. In the restaurant at breakfast, I watched a gentleman dressed in a suit stand behind the bar and talk to the waitresses and watch TV ... I assumed he worked there ... while the waitresses did all the work, the only thing he did for the 45 minutes I was there was to change the station on the TV ... when I pay a premium rate at a hotel, this is not what I want to see.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no hat water

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: staff was great
Cons: HOT WATER
staff works hard but renovation project management is a joke, many room without hot water Construction supervision is a mess
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Under remodel....STAY AWAY! Nothing worked

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Close it down until renovations are finished
They should not be offering any rooms while renovating the hotel. Air system was spotty and loud, ran out of hot water, rooms to the key did not work, had to change keys several times, changed room once during the three day stay because heat and hot water were not available. Staff was friendly and helpful but were overwhelmed due to all the problems, every guest I spoke with had the same issues. Great location but not a pleasant stay at all, if other hotels were available I would have changed. Thanks Julio
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

MY Stay at Double Tree Downtown Atlanta!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The easy access to the elevator.
Cons: No to rent unit the complete renovation is done!
Location: Great location!
Well, first of all no bell man. (Only Valets) . Checking in was a little slow. The Elevator was needed cleaning. The room was a little small for a King size bed and the walls were thin we heard every conversation from both rooms. To top it off the hot water in the sink took minutes to warm up. Furniture was very old. A total waste of money. Comfort Inns rooms were better. Valet parking fee to much!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
It was good and near the conference host hotel.Unfortunately, we can't post reviews that include room rates, insults or profanity, personal details, website addresses or phone numbers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rude Staff, Didn't notify Expedia of Renovations

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Close to everything.
Cons: Staff politeness, restricting renovation work till at least 10am-5pm and not before or after, parking fees are triple surrounding public parking.
Location: Everything is nearby, only nice thing about the hotel.
Terrible. Every morning they started renovation on floor above us at 7:30am and could not sleep. Called front desk to ask what was going on 6th floor and was immediately told they were doing renovations and that customers were notified by the message on the website. Problem is most people book through other sites. I called Expedia and asked them if they had been notified because I never saw it when I booked. They looked as well as called DoubleTree and could not find record of any notification. Expedia called and asked hotel if there was anything they could do for me and they said NO. The staff at this hotel were rude from the start and to top it off after Expedia called on my behalf our room was not cleaned when we got back in the evening Saturday night. I am going to be contacting both Expedia & DoubleTree about this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Babylon, United States of America

No heat

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Our room had no heat and they offered us extra blankets or to move to another room. It was 4am so we was not moving our things. They gave a a $100 credit. So I was pleased with that. Staff was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
It's an old hotel and it shows. The carpets are modern looking but dirty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile

Valet parking a rip off

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Went to the football game and shopping and restaurants.
The rooms were okay but ants in the the bathroom. Good reviews that's all I have to say about this