Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay. Fine. Affordable.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Bring your own pillows, because theirs are terrible. Pretty easy access to major highway arteries. If you like breakfast bars or packaged muffins, then there IS a free breakfast! ;-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Kitchen, bring all of your utensils

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The bed was OK
Cons: If ou are going to have a kitchen put something in it.
I don't know how many cars there are in this world, but I swear that they were all on I-75. I was told that on Sunday, traffic wouldn't be bad--someone forgot to tell traffic. It took me 10 hours to go from Bradenton, Fl to Atlanta. There were absolutely NO utensils--no cups, no silver, no plates NOTHING in the drawers or cupboards!! I had a cup from Arby's in the car--I used that to take my pills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that there were no utensils that came in the room even though those items are available upon request. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that we provided you with a nice kitchen. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Very easy to check in and get to my room.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The room and location were nice. The major problem was that someone staying previously smoked heavily in the room and did so by removing the smoke detector. None of the staff who cleaned the room seem to notice the smell of lingering smoke in the room. The whole facility is a none smoking area. Otherwise, a fine stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that despite the property being smoke free, someone previously smoked in your room. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that we provided you with a nice room and great location. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Old , dingy, very old interior, dirty. I did not have a good experience. I would not recommend this hotel to none of my friends or family. Everything in the room was outdated. All appliances and furniture were very old. Look liked furniture you could buy from a not so great thrift shop. The bathroom gave me the creeps. Only advice I have is invest in your company I would never book a stay at that hotel again. I suggest the company upgrade, EVERYTHING!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Excellent location

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Great front desk staff, down hill from there. Room remakes of cigarette smoke in a non smoking facility. No comment cards, no hangers, no extra toilet paper and I arrived too late to ask for a different room. There two other Extended Stay locations nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that the room smelt like smoke and that some of the items were missing in the room. We are sorry for this issue, but are happy to read that we provided you with a great staff and a great location. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Overall hotel was good for the price however a lot needs to improve in terms of service & staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am more than pleased to see you valued our affordable rates. However, it is disappointing to read that you felt our service needs to improve, which has been addressed with our staff. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fla

the hotel was okay the clientele were not

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: New Management
Location: There is a Publix, Arby,s,and several small restaurants near by I was there for a class I was not interested in the night life.
It took about 25 minutes to check in. I could not get a wink of sleep on the 2nd night, they must have allowed a herd of elephants stay above my room. I had to call front desk 3 times,on the 3rd attempt I explained if the front desk could not take care of the noise I would and it wouldn't be pretty. Finally at 2 am the noise stopped. I needed to be up at 7 am for a class, the last time I looked at the clock it was 3:30 am. well needless to say I was not able to concentrate in class due to lack of sleep. The fantastic Continental Breakfast they have is a box of oatmeal, some stale muffins, in a bag and coffee. So I for one will not stay there ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that you encountered some disturbance during your stay and that you were not satisfied overall with the hotel and its services. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am caoching with the staff to follow up with guests and be aware of any kind of noise and disturbances at the hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

It's the simple things that get you...

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Price and hassle free grab and go breakfast.
Cons: Number the rooms like every other hotel on the planet and make sure you can see the numbers from the road. An elevator would be a VERY helpful touch.
Location: Only a mile and a half or so from the Medical Center MARTA station, so very convenient if you want to hop on a train and head downtown without traffic
Just like the other Extended Stay America brand hotel in the Atlanta area, there is no place to park in front of the reception desk, so you must park and walk to check in. This hotel has multiple buildings and while the clerk was helpful in describing which building my room was in, she did me a great disservice by not indicating which side of the building my room was located. The room numbers cannot be seen from the street at night, so you have to get out of your car to get close enough to read the tiny numbers. Each building has 2 floors without an elevator so my 2nd floor room was a walk with luggage up stairs. Sigh. Then the surprise -- unlike every other hotel on the planet, the room numbers are not in succession (1,2,3,4,etc.), but rather even on one side of the hotel and odd on the other. So, much to my chagrin, I was on the wrong side of the hotel and you cannot get to the other side without taking your luggage back down the stairs, putting your luggage back in your car and driving around the building. Then, again, unlike any other hotel on the planet, the room numbers sequence changes from right to left on one side and left to right on the other, so I naturally hoofed my luggage up the stairs on the opposite side of the floor from my room... Sigh #2. Once in the room, the lighting was poor which gave the appearance of dingy, even though the room was clean. Room had a window AC unit that worked just fine once I made sure the fan stayed on. Small room, but ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties finding your room and that your room was small. In response to your feedback, I am taking the necessary steps in going over protocol in clearly advising the location of rooms at this hotel with the staff. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Not good.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Something bit me in the room. I had numerous bites. The only solution that was offered was to move us to a downgraded room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not pleasant. In response to your feedback, I am going over standard protocol in inspecting and cleaning rooms so that this situation does not happen again. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Good place to stay, very convenient because the kitchen included then you can save money preparing your food, very silent place so you get to sleep well
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see your receive convenience by staying with us and that the fully equipped kitchen in your room was beneficial. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.