Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this location if at all possible!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: location and staff
Location: very unsafe location and there nothing to do!
Avoid this location if at all possible! Staff STOLE items from my room and the hotel did nothing to remedy the situation!!! I stayed in the Atlanta location this year while on a business trip. On a positive note, the front desk staff was very friendly and the rooms were acceptable. However, after returning from a long day of work, I noticed my Chanel purfum was missing. I don't know when exactly it happened, but at some point during the day when I was away someone entered my room and STOLE it. I travel 40-50 times a year for work and have stayed everywhere from $49 a night dives to places costing hundreds a night and have NEVER had anything stolen from my room before. I informed the front desk manager that evening and contacted Marriot corporate after my stay there and have yet to receive any acknowledgement or apology for the theft. Honestly, the cost of the purfum is insignificant, but having anything stolen from your room while a guest at a hotel is UNACCEPTABLE. Seriously, avoid this location!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairfield Inn and Suites

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and the breakfast was satisfactory.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms. Security of the area outside the hotel.
The location of the hotel, while in proximity to public transit is in an area with substantial social problems. I did not feel safe in the area immediately surrounding the hotel. While the room was standard, there were some issues with cleanliness, particularly, stains (of unknown nature) on the sofa. I recommend that the hotel make more of an effort to control the area immediately surrounding the main entrance, I was often harassed by the homeless when I left the hotel. I personally witnessed someone being chased and arrested by police from a hotel window. The fitness room is under-equipped. I find it difficult to believe that the hotel has received a decent rating thus far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and great room.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: STAFF! Very good breakfast, very clean, well done especially in a very old building.
Cons: Fix elevator doors, reinstate happy hour. LOTS of homeless folks in the area, felt a bit unsafe to the south and west of the hotel.
Location: Lots of restaurants, shops, bars close. Nice walk to conf. center.
Overall a great experience due to the friendliness and helpfulness of ALL hotel staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nope

Posted Jun 21, 2015
In a bad area, no ice machines, elevator wouldn't work, and valet lost our key
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel, downtown Atlanta, Georgia.

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff. Very clean rooms. Shuttle Driver - Mr. Harrison was wonderful. He was very friendly and interacted with out family.
Cons: The first shuttle driver wasn't that friendly. She acted like she was going out of her way to drive us to a game.
Location: We went to the Red Sox/Braves Game on Thurday, June 18th.
Beautiful hotel. Everyone was friendly. The two bed suite was spacious and clean. The bathroom was roomy and clean. My family enjoyed the continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Empty boxes

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Hotel was nice good location. 2 empty television boxes were in our room when we checked in and the room didn't have a fridge as stated it would. Don't pay for parking park around the corner for $6 a day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gray, GA

Not staying here again

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The room was spacious.
Cons: Everything could be improved except the size of the room.
This is my revised review, original was rejected. Staff was unprofessional, shower scalds, have to hold handle to toilet to flush. Terrible for the name.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Bad part of town but the hotel employees are quick to get you unloaded and inside the hotel and have a free shuttle service to get you where you need to go .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Center of the city.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The staff were "over the top" friendly and helpful. It is a great location with several attractions within walking distance.
Cons: One side of our bed was uncomfortable.
Location: Ten minute walk to Georgia State University, Georgia Aquarium, CNN, Coca Cola and several restaurants. It is right across the street from MARTA.
We have no regrets about the hotel or location and would stay here again if we were in the area. We used MARTA public transportation--it is cheap and easy to use. Whenever we were confused or had a question-people were eager to help out. We loved the southern hospitality that we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great Staff, Close to Georgia State University

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the room was large.
Cons: More options for restaurants with high Yelp scores that deliver healthy food.
Location: Within walking distance of Georgia State University, so very easy to attend conferences there. Across the street from Five Points light rail station.
I was impressed by the lovely and friendly staff who bent over backwards to make my stay enjoyable. The hotel offers a great free breakfast and a shuttle to locations within 2 miles of the hotel. It is literally across the street from The Five Points light rail station that takes you straight to the airport, so getting there and back without a car is easy. The facities themselves are a bit older--despite new decorations--but my room was a comfortable, large suite with a seperate living room with a small fridge and microwave. My negative experiences had more to do with the hotel's location than the hotel itself. There were not many high-quality eating establishments by the hotel because Underground Atlanta, a once busy mall of restaurants and shopping created for the Atlanta Olympics, is largely shut down. It also isn't an area I felt particularly safe in as a single woman walking to Georgia State University for a conference in the evening as there are so many dark sections of the streets nearby that were probably lighted when Underground Atlanta was bustling. Hopefully this area will get revitalized soon and thus offer more eating options and better lighting for everyone.