Ratings based on 1,877 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Great hotel. I really liked this hotel. The lack of a safe and a dodgy ironing board my only minor issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star review of your recent stay at the Ellis. I am sorry our rooms don't have safes in them but we do offer safety deposit boxes at the front desk; also we will take care of the ironing board right away. The entire Staff looks forward to another opportunity to welcome you back again as a valued guest of the Ellis.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 17, 2017
Booked for 2 nights thinking that it is 4 star ... it turned out to be less than 2 star. Sheets had stain on them ... upon request to change the guy at the counter showed me 3 other rooms that had a very noisy cooling system. I booked this hotel on recommendation of an Expedia agent over the phone ... very disapointed ... waited 45 minutes for breakfast ... cofee was cold so they heated it in microwave ... which was still cold ... according to the guy at continental breakfast, they didnt have it on that day because they didnt have enough guests. Didnt know that Expedia's hotel class can be deceiving, I have no idea why this hotel show 4 stars whwn it should really show 3 or less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Good location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Location also had European feel
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy walk to many sites also located on trolley line.
Attended a convention at TheGeorgia Congress Center. Easy walk to convention center and to restaurants and entertainment on Peach Tree.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent 4 star review of your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. Our Hotel does have a great location in Downtown Atlanta.The entire staff looks forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again as our valued guest!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location, had Windows that opened for fresh air.
Cons: Management and housekeeping
Location: Restaurants, zoo, parks, festival
Had poor customer service and housekeeping, room was not clean and had maintenance issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice non-chain hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
Comfortable bed and room, pleasant staff and nice restaurant with outdoor patio. Within walking distance to much of downtown ATL.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent 4 star review of your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. So glad you liked our beds, restaurant and our staff.The entire staff looks forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again as our valued guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice central location

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Modern design, furniture, pleasant staff.
Cons: No in room safe or minibar. You may be disturbed by noise if your room is near ice machine on each floor.
Location: easy walking distance to Centennial park and associated sights (World of Coke/Acquarium/College Football Museum) & sports facilities
Courteous staff. Expected amenities. Great location for using subway to /from airport (line across the street with no change needed). Lots of dining choices within the adjacent several blocks along peachtree and side roads. Access to streetcar also across the street for those not wanting to walk to nearby sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent 5 star review of your recent stay at the Ellis Hotel. So very glad you felt our staff was friendly and our location was good. The entire staff looks forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again as our valued guest!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Seems like an old hotel. Down comforter felt like a piece of paper. TV reception barely worked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review, your comments are very helpful to us. We are in the process of getting a new TV channel line up provider and new TV. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey BC

Historic Hotel done nicely.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
This hotel has a great location. It is close to many restaurants and and popular Atlanta sites. A good vibe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star review of the Ellis Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweetwater Fest

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Room was nice. A little loud from street noise but that's on MARTA idiots not the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
So very glad you felt our staff at the Ellis was friendly & helpful. We are looking into adding some window casements to help with the street noise issue some people have. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much older hotel than displayed

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: location, staff
Cons: time for a major re-fit
The Ellis is in a good location downtown, but there is really very little in downtown Atlanta to see in this area. We walked around virtually deserted streets for a morning, found little shopping. Olympic Park is nice, and the CNN HQ is actually interesting, but that was about it. Valet parking at the hotel is steep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Kim Kleisner, Hotel Management
I was sorry to hear that you felt there was little to do within the Atlanta Downtown area. The Downtown area is slowly evolving and getting more attractions such as the College Football Hall of Fame, GA Aquarium, Civil Rights Museum, CNN and the Coke Museum etc. Regarding valet parking Downtown the hotel uses a third party vendor and does not own any parking they have priced them selves lower than most of the area hotels.