Ratings based on 2,430 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice, convenient hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Very nice, cozy hotel. Not perfect, but lots of character. Very nice staff. Fresh coffee and light breakfast provided. Free parking in Atlanta is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A lot of charm

Posted Nov 11, 2017
This place has been lovingly cared for and there's even a cat. The walls were very very thin and the floors pretty creaky so bring some earplugs. Cute neighborhood and I felt very safe staying there alone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Charming old inn

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I came to Atlanta to visit my daughter who is a student at SCAD and had a peasant two night stay at the Highland Inn. I’ve stayed here before and I know what to expect- nothing fancy and new however I do think the bedding and drapes were new since the last time I stayed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast isn’t extensive but I was thankful for the yogurt and banana and coffee! Parking can be a bit tricky if there’s an event going on but I was always able to find a spot even after 10pm both nights. Please don’t expect the Waldorf Astoria staying here but enjoy the charm of this old Inn!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Cons: Update the facility and perform repairs.
Location: The location was nice, near some restaurants, bars, and a grocery store.
The hotel needs a lot of updates. My shower was leaking water all night which I asked them to fix, however it was leaking again the next day. The AC blew bugs out and was working intermittently. The mattress was like sleeping in a bowl. Breakfast was disappointing. They had some cheerios, toast, and some yogurt was about all. I don't think I would ever stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kristin A., Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. We welcome all constructive criticism as it helps us to improve. Maintaining and older building while trying not to strip the character can be challenging but we do our best to stay on top of things. Sorry you didn't feel that was the case. Our complimentary breakfast is on par with standard continental breakfast (bagels, toast, variety of cereal, yogurt, pastries and/or muffins, coffee, milk, juice and tea) and is served from 7 am until 10 am. After 10 am we do leave a few items out for those who chose to sleep in instead of having nothing out. Perhaps this is what you saw. Either way, we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and would love the opportunity to make things right should you decide to give us another chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clovis, NM

Great, quirky, charming hotel!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
It was a great stay. Absolutely loved the charm and history. The staff was so amazing and helpful! Even caught a local comedy show in the ballroom. We will definitely stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingsland Ga

Charged my card twice

Posted Oct 23, 2017
They charged me twice and the clerk ignored us at check in for 10 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kristin A., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you had a negative experience. Hopefully we were able to sort out the extra charge for you in a timely manner. I will share your review with our staff as an example of what not to do. Again, our apologies. We hope to be able to make it up to you in the future should you decide to give us another chance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice but needs updating

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Our room was small but comfortable. The bed was too soft, but thats just me. The bathroom was clean but really needs updating...looked old and very little space for stuff. I plugged in my hair dryer in the main room and the lights dimmed and the overhead fixture flickered!! A little alarming...maybe the wiring needs an overhaul. Ok in the bathroom as there is a gfi outlet. Breakfast was fine but pretty limited...cereal, toast and small pastries, coffee and tea. Manuels restaurant is just a few minute walk away...good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stapleton, ga

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds.
Cons: Handicap accessibility.
Location: Restaurants nearby.
Charming older hotel but clean and comfortable room. Friendly staff members. Easy check-in. Not handicap accessible though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Perfect place to stay when all you need is somewhere to sleep. Cheap rooms, friendly staff and resident hallway cat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Close to everything. Carter Library, Shopping

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: European feel. The price
Location: It's near everything in Atlanta.
Great neighborhood, two BBQ places within a block, not your typical chain inn. More European. I loved it.