Ratings based on 2,303 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Georgia Mountains

If you want to hear partying!

Posted May 17, 2017
The hotet in all was unique, as it' an old building, and so the rooms were reminiscent to the rooms in Cape May, NJ. BUT......the first floor rooms are right OVER a LOUD dance club. If you like loud drums and guitars, as well as people screaming till 'all hours', we didn't! The guy at the desk SHOULD have said something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Quaint, historical building close to downtown

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: This is the antidote to the corporate robotic media-blasting phony-friendly non-experience of the chain hotel. This is a genuinely antique relic.
Cons: Hot water in shower took about 20 minutes to turn on. Eventually it arrived, and was fine.
Location: Close to downtown and walking distance to Jimmy Carter library.
Hotel was easy to find in a hipster neighborhood with adequate parking. Building is a trip back in time, a quaint old place, with historical charm, a hundred years' worth of art on the walls. And a cat! Room was comfortable and clean. Location felt safe. The hotel and our room were clean and everything we needed was provided. Small refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, all included. Coffee in the morning at 7:00. Nice sitting areas around the hotel. It's a European type place close to gigantic modern city. I took off one star for the hot water in the shower which took 20 minutes to reach the bathroom from wherever it came from. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a personality

Posted May 10, 2017
The Highland Inn was a good stay, no huge issues—just depends on what you're looking for. The bathrooms are interestingly set up with the sink outside and away from the toilet. The room I stayed in was above the restaurant so there was loud people one night which kept me up, but that can change. Overall I found this place a good stay for a couple of nights and glad there was parking available. This place definitely has some personality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Truly vintage!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, cleanliness, proximity to good restaurants (BBQ next door was great!), friendly staff and the black cat.
Cons: Larger rooms and baths, repair floors, fix the door peepholes so that people don't have to put paper in them so that others can't look in the room.
Location: We had spent the afternoon at the King Center and the Hotel was easy to access.
Room was clean, but very small. The only place to sit was the bed or one chair. The bathroom was very small with no counter to use for toiletries. The continental breakfast was well rounded and more than just coffee, tea and sweet rolls. The hotel is definitely vintage with uneven floors and added air conditioners that were on the noisy side. If you are looking for a vintage hotel, this is the one for you. Obviously, we have never traveled to Europe, so we can't testify to it being a European style hotel. We enjoyed the black cat that was a fixture on the carpet of the 2nd floor!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mid town location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Kind of frumpy place- no real amenities or polish to the rooms- Could have upgraded on lots of the basics
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA.

Hotel staff was as good as they get.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The staff was top notch.
Cons: Finish doing renovations.
Location: Some great restaurants just ask staff for recommendations.
Period correct but the smell in the room hit you like a ton of bricks as soon as we opened the door. There was an awful smell coming from the drain in the shower so my husband had to cover the drain with a towel and we had to keep the bathroom door closed. Also when we turned the air conditioning on flakes of some kind of black stuff flew onto the bed. Don't get me wrong the staff was awesome and the hotel was very pretty,it still needs some work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Free parking, quiet room, fair price. Close to where our conference was. Free wifi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Very affordable, clean hotel. Would stay again. Not far from the main hub of Atlanta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Great inn for travelers who love a certain atmospheric charm in their accommodations. This is a friendly, comfortable inn that has done a good job with the space they have in this historic building. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Location was great - plenty shopping and eating within walking distance, short Uber ride into downtown. Parking was free - imagine that! Only drawbacks were noisy air unit and fairly thin walls. Both probably to be expected in a building of this age and for the price, which was very reasonable. All in all, will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly, if a bit dated, hotel in good location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Friendliness, Location, Lounge
Cons: Bathroom plugs and door.
Location: See above
Nice 4 night stay in mid town Atlanta. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice lounge. Rooms a bit small and bathroom fittings a bit old. Good location for eg Jimmy Carter Library and Martin Luther King Centre. Bus stop outside. Good restaurants, bars and a cinema nearby (except the Mexican on Ponce de Leon!).