Ratings based on 2,248 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Great location,amazingly helpful staff, budget int

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Everything. Room and interior are fairly budget, but it works well for what it is. A great deal, amazing location, lots of history.
Cons: Not much for what it is
Location: shopping, eating, Atlanta
Loved it! Great location,amazingly helpful staff, budget interior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Clean, Cozy, Cheap and 2 miles from the city

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice antiquated hotel simple, clean friendly and courteous staff. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second stay not as good as the first.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: location - close to cool area of town, good eats, etc.
I stayed at this hotel while in Atlanta for business. I don't mind small and sparse, as cost and location is a primary factor. Both of these are met with Highland Inn. My big problem this time was noise and parking. One evening there was some kind of "event" happening on the property. That meant when I came back from a long day of work, I drove around looking for parking for 30 minutes. I ended up having to park several blocks away and walk to the hotel in the pouring rain. The noise from the event (lots of yelling and cheering) was overpowering even in my own room and went on fairly late in the evening (maybe 11pm).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather old, needs some basic upgrading

Posted Feb 14, 2017
I have stayed at other boutique style hotels. This one needs updating. Night staff not too pleasant, black cat to greet us was terrible. My colleague is afraid of cats and nothing was done to remove the cat. The place smelled like a cat, needed deodorizing. Couldn't find anyone upon arrival and after our checkin to inform them the window would not lock. We slept with it open. Very cold for us. (Visiting from Florida) 50 degrees, next morning I reported it to the manager. He was non chalante about it (as if this happens all the time) Staff not well informed as to the Hotel's history Breakfast was bare. Needed eggs and bacon to really feel comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Clean - great location - great price - great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Nice and quaint- close to daughter and restaurants

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Felt safe and nice staff - loud one night with Activity in the. ballroom- but slept good rest of week
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

OK place to sleep...

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Probably tough to make the rooms larger at this point. Maybe better sound insulation...
The location was extremely close to where we needed to be and the neighborhood is nice. And the price was right - really inexpensive. The staff was fine, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was functional. But the rooms are TINY (like cheap New York City hotel tiny), so you won't want to do anything there but clean up and sleep. And, at least in our part of the hotel, it was noisy all night long - there's a bar downstairs and I think the little courtyard our window was on was where patrons went outside to smoke, get high, whatever, and it was LOUD. Basically until 2 or 3 in the morning. Might not be the case everywhere in the hotel and we were there on a Saturday night, which is probably the worst night for bar noise. Still something to be aware of.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The plumbing was inoperable.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The water faucet was so difficult to manipulate. It would be hot for a second and extremely cold a few seconds after. The staff was nice enough to switch the room for us. My wife was uncomfortable during the entire stay. It's an old fashioned hotel. Everything is very ancient and antique.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Vintage hotel in the heart of a welcoming communit

Posted Jan 16, 2017
My boyfriend and I were staying here mainly for the price and man do you get some bang for your buck! The staff is amazing and makes you feel like you're staying with family. Now don't expect to come in and find yourself in a five star hotel as this lodge is more a blast from the past however the vintage look/vibe it has is incredible. Pet friendly and very clean. I would recommend highly to anyone who asked and plan on coming back every time we go to Atlanta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Jan 16, 2017
We enjoyed the Highland Hotel. The room was comfortable, spacious. Our room was actually upgraded upon arrival from a full standard to a queen. The staff was helpful & friendly. The black cat pirate was extra friendly and followed up to our room, came in & explored before casually departing. The continental breakfast was convenient. I especially liked the historic ambience including a real key for the room. Close to restaurants, grocery shopping & pharmacy-everything you need if you don't have a car. The MARTA was a few feet from the entrance and quite reliable. Traveling as a single parent w a young child I felt this was a safe stay.