Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Bettina from Shrewsbury

Convenient and quaint.

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in Room 5 and had a very enjoyable visit to AC. The Inn itself was quaint and right off the beach, which would be great in the summer! The breakfast was very good and the evening Happy Hour was simple but nice. What we found odd (and what ended up being a topic conversation with a couple we met and chatted with there) was that the staff was not very engaging. While Ian met us and got us checked in, he seemed reserved and definitely a staff member, not an owner. What we enjoy about going to a B&B is the change to meet the owners, hear about the location from them, to learn about the house etc. but that was missing from this trip. There was another staff member in the home but he didn't come out to greet us and only collected the keys when we left with a, "Have a nice day." That being said, we enjoyed the room and the proximity to the beach and casinos, and would stay there again in the future should we return. One room suggestion, fabric softener on the towels would prevent them from being stiff- they were not pleasant to dry off with! Also, the water in the shower ran warm to cold, likely due to others in the home using theirs, but it was a bit shocking when using it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice B n B! Would definitely return!
4 out of 5
by Kevin from Levittown, PA

A very nice B&B

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice B&B. The inn is located away from the AC hotels, in a quiet neighborhood . It's close to the beach. There are a few small restaurants within walking distance. Atlantic City hotels are a few miles away. We were booked in Room 5 on the second floor, and stayed for two days. We had a late check in late (after 7 pm), and were given instructions on where to find our key and where to park. The room was clean, and comfortably furnished.
4 out of 5
by Melissa from Harrisburg, PA

Fantastic place to stay in NJ with great views!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
I very much enjoyed my stay here. Next time I would probably want to upgrade to a bigger suite with some of the extra add ons that I saw that they had. The staff was amazingly sweet and friendly, and the breakfast was phenomenal. The cookies that were out in the lobby were delicious. Will be staying here again. Some rooms come with parking, next time I will try to get one of those rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC area

Charming B&B near beach

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Charming facility, nice staff, not too far from Atlantic City proper
Cons: Better explanation of heating/cooling in room would be nice, as would improved WiFi access. Bed was much softer than expected.
Location: Very near the boardwalk and beach, a few miles south of casinos and amusements
Our stay was brief—just one night—but planned that way. Carisbrooke Inn is a charming old home converted into a B&B. Its location a few miles south of the main boardwalk casino area means you will either need to drive into Atlantic City proper for the boardwalk experience or hoof it. If the weather is good and you are reasonably fit, walking is a good option. If weather is not so great, or you aren’t a fitness fanatic, prepare to spend some money to park in one of the many parking lots in Atlantic City; or walk to a Jitney pickup (they do not appear to go into Ventnor City, where the hotel is located). Inn staff were pleasant and professional in our brief interactions. The room we were in was on the small side, being on the top floor, and had a detached bathroom; this was not a serious problem, however, and overall the Inn was a good choice. The extremely soft mattress did make for a less than comfortable night’s rest, sadly, but every place has its mattress woes. If you want to stay somewhere close to Atlantic City without having to mortgage your home for a stay, you should consider Carisbrooke.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: the atmosphere, the location and the people
Whenever we want to go to Atlantic City, we stay at this B&B gem. We enjoy the Boardwalk, proximity to AC and the beach.
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Philly area

Great B&B (beware of the construction next door)

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Terrific B&B! Would definitely go back :-) Only problem for us was the all-night long very loud rustling noise of construction plastic flapping in a very stormy wind outside our window (due to hurricane Joaquin) -- There's a massive condo pjt right next door, toward the beach side; beware, till the project is completed. Ask for a room on the opposite side :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by John, Hotel Management
Joseph, Thanks for the review. I'm sorry about the noise from the plastic. I'm happy to report that part of the construction is finished. All the exterior walls appear to be done and stucco'd so there should not be much overnight noise anymore (although with my luck as I write this they will determine they need to re-do something). As of today (Oct 29) they have also remove much of the construction fence adjacent to us and have completed the sidewalks and driveways. I would expect the building next to us to be complete within a couple of weeks.
3 out of 5
by Seth

Clean, friendly but construction right next door

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
Room was clean and cozy. Breakfast was nice as well. Staff is friendly. The only issue is that right next door is construction and at 8 am or maybe earlier, the sound of construction was loud. Not a pleasant way to wake up. Luckily I bought the room on a great sale $89.00 Regular price would not be worth it.
5 out of 5
by Marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Vincent from NC

Quick getaway!

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent stay in an excellent area of NJ beach. Right off the boardwalk, a nice stroll up the coast to Atlantic City! Turn south on the boardwalk and you are in nice area of beach, near the pier. Room was comfortable, convenient and cool. Breakfast was fantastic! Staff is friendly and accommodating. They also have another property across the street, new condos coming up beside them, but still a ocean view off the balcony. Walk up to Ventnor Ave and grab a cool treat( ice cream, water ice or gelati) at Carisbrooke's shop! Loved it!