Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Close to attractions

Posted Jul 21, 2017
One room had an odor of smoke, but the rooms were fine otherwise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty worn out

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Hotel is pretty worn out. Some hallways and sections of the hotel are in a serious need of a refresh. Rooms are decent. They charge for EVERYTHING! If you show up at 2pm you will be charged $10 for early check in. Also there is $27 resort fee p/day. The beach bar is pretty decent but the better part of the strip is now in front of the Tropicana which is a much nicer hotel as well. Would not go back to Ballys but will definitely go back to the newly renovated & usually less expensive Tropicana.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stayed at places for less money and better rooms

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Cleanliness - everywhere! Oh and how do close your room service before 11pm? Isn't that what room service is for, after hours!
Thank god I brought bleach wipes because I had to use them before stirring on the toilet. I was told via email that I was supposed to get 2 free drinks, water would have been good - but nothing. Not even a bottle of water in my room! For almost $400 a night, this place was totally not worth it. However I will say that the staff I did see were all very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stayed at places for less money and better rooms

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Cleanliness - everywhere! Oh and how do close your room service before 11pm? Isn't that what room service is for, after hours!
Thank god I brought bleach wipes because I had to use them before stirring on the toilet. I was told via email that I was supposed to get 2 free drinks, water would have been good - but nothing. Not even a bottle of water in my room! For almost $400 a night, this place was totally not worth it. However I will say that the staff I did see were all very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Close to boardwalk

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Old/very outdated rooms, beds were comfortable. Staff not very pleasant, L bar staff were the only nice people encountered. Beach bar pool we did not get to visit but hear it is nice. It of course costs extra even as a hotel guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

It's dated....

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: Everything
Location: It's A.C., it's not too big, you can catch a cab and do whatever you want.
The beach bar bumps music from 10am to 2am everyday and you can feel it in your room. The whole hotel is dated, including the spa, felt like the 80's in the spa. When talking to front desk at check in they didn't even look at me when talking. When talking to the spa lady on the phone she kept talking to other people. It is one of the cheaper hotels and now I know why. Also the concerts on the beach are held in front of it and they block the beach off making you walk a couple blocks either way to hang on the beach, which also makes them more congested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The location is excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous, helpful and honest. I will stay here again and recommend that others try it for themselves.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Stay

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I had two wait two days for room service to come and clean my room. Then when I called to complain about it the front desk staff kept hanging up the phone on me to the point I had to leave the comfort of my room to go to the front desk and ask exactly what is going on
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was decent. Didn't get the room I booked.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel was decent. Didn't get the room I booked because They ran out of premium rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from md

Poor service. Over booked.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
They overbooked. We had to wait an extra 90min. for them to find us a room. Them we paid for a king room, and gave us a double. Hotel front desk staff was very short and not responsive. No manager to assist. They said they were short staffed and we always over book....the attitude was poor. Room service messed up on our food after a 1 hour wait. Indoor pool closed very early.