Ratings based on 1,306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mantoloking, NJ

Better when it was a Marriott

Posted Sep 26, 2016
I was a frequent visitor to the Marriott Seaview (a number of years ago) and was a bit disappointed with the current ownership. The staff was not as friendly and the renovations to the lounge area were very disappointing. If visiting for the first time, I probably would have rated it higher but when comparing to the past, it just didn't measure up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

King room, peeling wallpaper, musty smell

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: It reminded me of The Shining.
Cons: Attention to detail needs to improve dramatically. I know this is attached to the University but as a 4 star hotel it isn't up to par.
We stayed the evening of September 10th. We parked in self parking and had trouble negotiating our way to the lobby with the major wedding that was taking place. No big deal there. Got our room. First thing I noticed was the musty mildew smell. Again, staying for one night, no big deal, just a mildly unpleasant odor. We left almost immediately to go to dinner. When we came back my wife asked if I had hung a towel on the back of the door. I hadn't and neither had she. This was another strike. I was woken up at least 10 times during the night by noisy guests in the hall. It was just one of those hotel visits where it was just a bunch of small things that together just added up to a mediocre stay at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this hotel holding deposit more than weeks

Posted Sep 5, 2016
nice and old hotel but not convenient holding deposit over two weeks now
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Absolutely Gorgeous! Very Charming. I will be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Tremendous Staff and Historic Site.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The space and the feel are classic and welcoming. The staff are friendly and the grounds are breathtaking. Two pools add to the relaxing feel.
Cons: We were told an inadequate HVAC IS being replaced. The room and hallways had a slight musty smell that was due to an overworked system.
Location: Atlantic City and Ocean City are within 20 minutes or less via the Parkway and Rte 9/AC Expressway. The grounds have a golf course and gym/play room.
Very pleasant, historic grounds and building, akin to the Overlook Hotel of Steven King infamy, but with an excellent, fun vibe, not a creepy one! We stayed one night, and aside from slight mustiness the staff explained was due to an overworked but soon-to-be replaced HVAC, our room on the 3rd floor was immaculate and comfortable. Special thanks to Tia and the day manager who made us feel so welcome. If I played golf I would be back sooner, but I will go back and enjoy the amenities - and perhaps take up the game.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure why Expedia VIP?

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Hotel is dated which is ok. Room had weird smell which is not ok. There was paint peeling and chips on floor by some stairs. There was no sense of privacy as I could hear everything in the halls. Place is pretty close to AC strip. Great water pressure in shower. Had to walk through a small bar/restaurant to get to indoor pool which is bit weird. All in all not bad for like a short stay. But I wouldn't recommend this place. Definitely not sure why it is considered vip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Beautiful hotel with a great staff and made us feel very welcome!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Lovely old hotel that took me back in time. The staff was courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, I didn't stay long enough to try out all the amenities, but I will definitely be back to correct that.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Attention to Details

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: quiet large rooms comfortable beds lovely pools (which I didnt get to use on this trip) The hotel is a great option if you do not want to stay in AC.
Cons: Damp Smells
Location: I was there for a work event in Mays Landing, but went to dinner close by in AC
Check in went well. It was a hot day and I was not offered a cold water, which I had been in the past at this hotel. When I walked out of the 3rd floor elevator, there was a damp musty smell. My room had that same smell but it was less strong. My big complaint was the following morning I went to shower and someones used soap was in the shower, which kind of made me think that the shower had not been cleaned. Additionally there were no sample soaps? Which made me think that the maid had overlooked the bathroom. I did complain to the front desk when I checked out, but nothing was done. I did however check out at 530 AM and there was not a manager on staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading Pa.

Disappointed

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Location. Curb appeal. The lobby was too dark to see to sign papers.
Cons: Staff training. Better cleaning. Inspect rooms prior to assigning to guests.
Location: Good location
The Check in staff was indifferent and inefficient. We stodd in front of three employees at the desk for ten minutes while one person assisted one guest and the others ignored us. Finally I had to insinuate myself into their presence to check in. The room smelled strongly of mold and mildew and was not clean.