Ratings based on 10,127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec

trump taj mahal

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: emplacement direct sur boarwalk
Cons: les tapis laisse a désirer
Location: boardwalk et pier vraiment a coté et plein de resto beaucoup de magasinage a faire
super service cordial mais avoir su qu ils etaient en greve j y serais pas aller mais ds l ensemble tres correct
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The Trump Dump

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Parking was very inexpensive. Pay once for all days.
Cons: Most Everything
Location: Food was good next door at Resorts Hotel but bad on the boardwalk.
The impending closure is taking it's toll on the visitors.. Very understaffed for linen service. Rooms were dirty. Roaches were present in the room. TV signal was poor quality. Called the front desk to ask for towels and they never arrived. Sheets were torn and frayed. We only stayed because the rooms were booked back in June before the worker's strike and were the cheapest on the boardwalk. You get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Taj

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Housekeeping was slow to clean our room. It was after 5 before it was done. We were understandable due to the strike. Strikers were outside the entire time but did not bother people as they crossed into the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Old fashioned but not retro

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The casino
Cons: Everything: the staff needs to be welcoming, the rooms improved and modernized, wifi and parking should be free for hotel guests.
Location: It is on the boardwalk which is the only good thing about this hotel.
We were very disappointed, the casino is good but the hotel is lousy. The room was very 70's, the bedding was not hotel quality, only the fast food was open the restaurants were closed. You pay for parking, if you don't have AT&T you pay 13$ for wifi, there is no business service, and they would not print our boarding passes. The staff's English is not good, they don't smile or greet the guests. We paid for this hotel much more than any other hotel that we visited in the 3 weeks trip yet it was the worse one. They will not see us or our friends in this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We booked the hotel through Expedia TD Points, prior to the workers' strike. Once the strike occurred, we waited it out for a few weeks. Closer to the date, I called the hotel to inquire about the strike, and front desk told me that it was business as usual. Upon arrival, the strike was still happening. We were yelled at by the strikers, and our car was blocked from entering. Every time we entered or left the hotel, we were faced with the strikers, who yelled that we should be ashamed for even entering. We felt awful, because, had we known the strike was still happening, we would have cancelled and stayed elsewhere. Due to lack of employees, we had barely any housekeeping as well. a big factor in booking this hotel was the fact that there was a gym and pool. no where on the site did it say these amenities were extra. The site lists wifi, parking as extra $, but not the gym the hotel charged us $20 USD/person just to use the gym, and the pool was another fee on top of that. at $20/person x 2 people, x 4 days, we spent another $160USD on gym facilities!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was not clean furniture was stained n broken

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Staff was on strike. Room was not clean hair on floor mirrors dirty rugs not vacumned bed was all lumpy. Looked like they brought in used furniture n took out good stuff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience. Do not book here!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Nowhere anywhere is there a warning that the staff of the Taj Majal are currently on strike. From the minute you drive into the hotel driveway, to every time you enter or exit the boardwalk from the hotel, to the minute you drive away, prepare to be screamed at via a microphone by picketers. This is considerably bothersome, particularly when on vacation and paying at least $259/night. In addition, there is a marked difference in the cleanliness, service, assistance, and amenities as a result of being understaffed. The hotel appears dirty. The front desk staff was short, rude, and less than helpful. There is zero room service, despite what the hotel boasts. As if that wasn't enough, you must pay for wifi, parking, and request your own bath mat for showering, because apparently those are no longer included. I will never again stay here. It was absolutely horrible and I was misled from the beginning about the quality of the stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vermeiden SIe dieses hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Unverschämtes Personal, unsauber, reisten einen Tag früher ab! Absolut nicht zu empfehlen!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proximity to the beach is its best feature. Dated

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Cons: Decor is very outdated.
Location: Boardwalk activities are engaging.
Dated hotel decor. Rooms are comfortsble, even if the carpet has multiple, visible stains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Room condition seemed very poor. Things needs to be replace in bathroom such as faucets and floors.