Ratings based on 10,117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from quebec

trump taj mahal

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: emplacement direct sur boarwalk
Cons: les tapis laisse a désirer
Location: boardwalk et pier vraiment a coté et plein de resto beaucoup de magasinage a faire
super service cordial mais avoir su qu ils etaient en greve j y serais pas aller mais ds l ensemble tres correct
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We booked the hotel through Expedia TD Points, prior to the workers' strike. Once the strike occurred, we waited it out for a few weeks. Closer to the date, I called the hotel to inquire about the strike, and front desk told me that it was business as usual. Upon arrival, the strike was still happening. We were yelled at by the strikers, and our car was blocked from entering. Every time we entered or left the hotel, we were faced with the strikers, who yelled that we should be ashamed for even entering. We felt awful, because, had we known the strike was still happening, we would have cancelled and stayed elsewhere. Due to lack of employees, we had barely any housekeeping as well. a big factor in booking this hotel was the fact that there was a gym and pool. no where on the site did it say these amenities were extra. The site lists wifi, parking as extra $, but not the gym the hotel charged us $20 USD/person just to use the gym, and the pool was another fee on top of that. at $20/person x 2 people, x 4 days, we spent another $160USD on gym facilities!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was not clean furniture was stained n broken

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Staff was on strike. Room was not clean hair on floor mirrors dirty rugs not vacumned bed was all lumpy. Looked like they brought in used furniture n took out good stuff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience. Do not book here!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Nowhere anywhere is there a warning that the staff of the Taj Majal are currently on strike. From the minute you drive into the hotel driveway, to every time you enter or exit the boardwalk from the hotel, to the minute you drive away, prepare to be screamed at via a microphone by picketers. This is considerably bothersome, particularly when on vacation and paying at least $259/night. In addition, there is a marked difference in the cleanliness, service, assistance, and amenities as a result of being understaffed. The hotel appears dirty. The front desk staff was short, rude, and less than helpful. There is zero room service, despite what the hotel boasts. As if that wasn't enough, you must pay for wifi, parking, and request your own bath mat for showering, because apparently those are no longer included. I will never again stay here. It was absolutely horrible and I was misled from the beginning about the quality of the stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vermeiden SIe dieses hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Unverschämtes Personal, unsauber, reisten einen Tag früher ab! Absolut nicht zu empfehlen!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Proximity to the beach is its best feature. Dated

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Cons: Decor is very outdated.
Location: Boardwalk activities are engaging.
Dated hotel decor. Rooms are comfortsble, even if the carpet has multiple, visible stains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Room condition seemed very poor. Things needs to be replace in bathroom such as faucets and floors.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Don't go if you have a baby.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Don't go if you have a baby. According to the staff, they don't have a single microwave in the entire resort. So if you need to sterilize baby bottles, forget about it. And of course, they won't move a finger to assist you. It is not that the place is very dated, expensive and bad taste; the workers there are more interested in their union strike than serve you. Terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

À éviter

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Qu'il soit sur le bord de la mer
Cons: Trop long à énumérer car une multitude de choses sont à améliorer
Location: Bien situé près du pire oú sont les jeux
Le personnel de l'hôtel est en grève donc le service est nul. Difficulté à avoir des serviettes, du savon et le service n'est pas fait à tous les jours d'as la chambre. Le personnel se fout de nos demandes et est indifférent. Je déconseille cet hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was nice, issue with protesters.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Was a bit disappointed when trying to get ice from the ice machine. Also bumped into a customer who said the vending machines were not working and he went from floor to floor to find one that works. The machines were tight, not too many winners. Seems they were short staffed due to protestors outside.