Ratings based on 8,343 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East, MD

Nice Hotel part of Tropicana

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and beds and great Staff.
Cons: I can't think of anything, we really enjoyed this hotel and the staff was wonderful.
Location: Right next to Tropicana Casino and right on the boardwalk. You can walk the boardwalk and enjoy time on the beach if you would like.
The Chelsea Hotel is part of the Tropicana and we had about a block to walk from Hotel to Casino. The hotel was very nice, clean and staff was very nice and helpful. The room showed its age a little, but the beds were very nice and clean. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast buffet on the 5th floor in the morning was delicious. It was also very quiet in our room, so it was nice to get a good night sleep after playing around in the Casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Check in was okay, long wait in line. Finding the correct tower was confusing . Didn't realize until later that there was separate valet and check in at the Havana tower. Would have saved a lot of time if we had known this . Stayed 5 nights and would come back again for sure now that we know the area .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had to walk the broad walk to get back in casino

Posted Sep 23, 2017
I was excited to get there,as soon as I got to Tropicana,I parked the car. Then we were looking to get in our rm, just to find out the CHELSA hotel is adjacent to the Tropican.This is false information. My friend and I had to walk about 20 to 30 minutes to look for the front desk ,so we can pick up our keys. We had to go through the whole casino floor just to get to the Chelsea hotel. Then we did not know that the Chelsea hotel had a garage,remember we parked at the Tropicana ,walking distance. When we get to the front desk ,we pick up our keys and go upstairs to our rm,just to find out that she gave us the wrong keys.went back downstiairs,to get one that works. After we were in the rm, we decided to go to the casino floor,just to find out that we had to go outside through the broad walk just to get in the casino. We stopped and grab a bite to eat at Hooters it was the worst GREASY wings I had ever seen, wings are supposed to come with blue cheese,celery,carrots,they Hooters told me it was all extra, I have never heard of that. So far it has been a nightmare,i decided to play some slots until 9pm. Went back to my rm and my friend was already napping,so he heard me and told me if I wanted to leave ,he was not feeling this place and i felt the same. So the bottom line is got there at 1pm left at 930pm,paid $115.00 for a rm that we did not sleep in, it was a horrible experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient and a good location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Mostly good to recommend enjoying weekends with family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Binghamton NY

Weekend getaway with my wife

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: Tell customers that "Chelsea room" is actually in a separate building; needs updates, new carpet
Went to AC to see concert and spend weekend away at the beach. Concert was at Tropicana Showroom so decided to stay at the Tropicana. Our room was the Chelsea building, which is a separate building from the Tropicana complex about 1 block away. It was very inconvenient and I would not recommend staying at the Chelsea building. Very expensive for a basic hotel room that could use updates, new carpet, no ice machine on floor, etc. However, hotel staff were very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great stay. Enjoyed all the shops in the Quarter of Havana tower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooms need updating, especially the pool

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Chipped wood very old bathroom and very old pool everything else though as far as clubs atmosphere restaurants we're pretty good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg, PA

Not impressed

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I was very disappointed by the breakfast buffet cost & selection, the outside appearance of the hotel, the lack of friendliness of the security, the lack of attention by the staff & the lack of a microwave in the room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Hotel room carpet wet

Posted Sep 20, 2017
First of all I wasn't aware that Tropicana owned Chelsea. When I was booking I thought that Chelsea was in the Tropicana, just another wing but we had to walk all the way from Tropicana to Chelsea. The room I stayed in was terrible there was no tub, which that was not mentioned in the time of booking, also the carpet was soaking wet from the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Stayed for Ironman 70.3 in Sept 2017. Close to race finish.