Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearmont, WY

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Rooms could have been cleaner, bed spread was not clean. Toilet had remenence of the last people. Room did not smell like smoke but the Lobby and hall way did. Poor choices for breakfast. Good location for our trip. I liked that it was pet friendly. And the front staff was very nice. Was rather cold in our room when we arrived. Would have been nice if it was a little warmer as it was late and we were ready for bed after 15 hours of traveling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

MISS THE AVERAGE MOTEL? THIS ONE DISAPPOINTS

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Clean up the place and needs updating badly.
Location: There was nothing to do within about 10+ miles of the motel except get gas & candy bars.
Although close to I-80 that's where the plus ends. The whole motel looked tired, dirty and just stuck out there to accommodate the really weary. If it hadn't been so late we would have gone somewhere else. To find the motel, you have to pass a torn down gas station. Then you travel a few hundred feet over a buckling road to the motel office which sits alongside a broken pool with dirty water and the pool lining half in the pool. Then we find out the 1st floor room would cost about 25-30% more. We would have to walk up to the second floor where there is a small full size bed with tired, seemed dirty bedspread on the bed. The rumble of the trucks all night long made for a short sleep. There was no restaurant within miles. We were told there was one 2-1/2 miles away but couldn't find it. Only offerings the motel had was a frozen pizza or another frozen choice. Totally disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlantic, IA

Last night on town, moving.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
The carpets were terrible! We kept stepping on sticky spots. The outdoor pool is nonexistent. The breakfast plain sucked. This is a home town hotel and sadly, I will never stay there again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good overnight stop.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Very accommodating staff. Room was fine. Surrounding area needs to be developed in order to attract more people to this exit/rest break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Average hotel that is too far from town.

Posted May 29, 2015
We were disappointed in the location so far from town. This is an average hotel with a very poor breakfast offering. There is no restaurant in the vicinity. This hotel is vastly overpriced! Will not be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Island, Nebraska

Absolutely wonderful.....

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Everything....
Cons: Can't think of anything to improve on... Wish the weather were better so we could have went swimming...
Location: We didn't really do anything nearby.
Great room, clean, quiet, had a very restful sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Quiet night

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Good stay Quiet room on end of hall. Older facility but clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

2nd stay at Sunset Inn

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy. There was room for my truck and horse trailer (makes life so much better when I do not have to unhook).
Cons: 3 bulbs were burned out over the sink but the staff replace them the next day. Maybe attention to details might be improved (only thing wrong)
Different room this time. Still clean and comfortable. Will stay again here in March when we come back to Cumberland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Traveling with horses

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: For the price range was a nice place to stay while traveling. We stayed two nights and were impressed with the cleanness of the motel in general.
Cons: A little attention to detail on repairs. More towels in the rooms.
Location: Atlantic Iowa has some attractions to visit and is not too far from the highway.
This is an inexpensive motel and took our dog (hard to find). The motel was clean and neat. The room and bathroom were clean. The queen sized bed was comfortable. There was room for our truck and horses trailer in the main parking lot (there is other truck/trailer parking at the side of the motel). There were some areas that need attention. Two of the celling tiles in the bath room need to be replaced (water damage) and not enough towels (we came to ride horses and needed two showers a day after a hard day in the saddle). Beyond needed more towels we were pleased with our stay. We will be coming back in two weeks for another visit to the area and will stay here. The motel is right off I-80 and on a main road so can be noisy outside (we did not notice). The breakfast bar was adequate: coffee, juice, and some pastries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smells like swamp

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Room had a musty odor and towels were paper thin. Didn't have milk for breakfast cereal.