Ratings based on 1,760 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethany Beach, DE

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Ambiance and the staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location next to main metro and train station. Easy to walk to museum of Art and several good restaurants
Great location but the staff was fantastic. We ate dinner there one night and food was excellent. Would stay there again and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio, USA

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Hotel staff was fantastic. Friendly and informative and spoke English well (if you don't speak Spanish). Nice location. Only drawback was the walls are paper thin. If you can avoid staying in a room near the housekeeping closets, do it. Note, these were just labeled as "office" Gym is small but nice - 2 bikes, 1 treadmill, set of dumbbells and a bench.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted May 27, 2017
Great location - easy access to all major central Madrid sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

convenient hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: near station
Cons: When your neighbor close a door, it makes a huge noise.
Location: All major museums are walkable.
It's very close to Atocha station. The staff are very helpful and speak English well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not My Best Choice

Posted May 21, 2017
Of all the places I stayed in Spain and Madrid during my three-week visit, this hotel was my least favorite. The location is not good--it's far out of the way and not centrally located, plus, while the area is not bad, it's not all that good either. The neighborhood was sketchy. Also, while the room is lovely with nice comforts and amenities, I found the hotel staff arrogant and unfriendly. There was also a big contingent of American guests staying, which is not what I enjoy, being American, I like to meet people of other cultures.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Dolores Alcántara, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the AC Hotel Carlton Madrid with us. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback regarding the service our team provided caught my attention.I am very sorry to learn that the quality of service provided by our staff did not quite meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team in an effort to improve our service. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Madrid. Sincerley
4 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable rooms and nice breakfast near Atocha

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
We chose the hotel because it was close to Atocha station since we were going to be travelling by train, if not I would probably have chosen another hotel with a location closer to centre of Madrid. Rooms were quite large and comfortable and breakfast was good with lots of fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice. The bar/lobby area was a bit dull and the assortment in the bar was not large. What annoyed me a little was that the lights were out in one of the lifts and it took the staff from early evening to lunch time to fix it. Travelling in a small lift with absolutely no light would be uncomfortable (and scary) to anyone so I think the staff should be equipped to change the light bulb.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

closed to train station

Posted May 16, 2017
We requested a king size bed. Got twin beds instead . Asked receptionist to change room. Said hotel was full.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Dolores Alcántara, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Customer Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the AC Hotel Carlton Madrid with us. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. I would like to take this time to apologize for the inconvenience caused, but we have no many rooms king size so we can not guarantee. Rest assured that if we have available this type or room, we always offer to the guests. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Madrid. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Visited Madrid several times. Accommodation very good for central location. Hotel easy walking distance to all visitor attractions. We unexpectedly had to return home early due to family bereavement. Expedia and hotel dealt with refund very swiftly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selby, UK

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: We love the hotel's location, the rooms and the breakfast.
This is the fourth time we have used this particular hotel which is a great indicator of just how good it is. Its location, just a five minute walk from the Atocha Railway Station, makes it particularly convenient if using the airport express bus service. We normally visit Madrid to watch tennis at the Caja Magica and, once again, the hotel's location is particularly good - just 400 metres from the Metro station which is on the direct line to the tennis. However, you can also walk from the hotel to the main museums and, in fact, a 10-15 minute walk will also bring you to the very centre of Madrid and the famous Plaza Mayor. The rooms are modern and well equipped and the breakfast is fabulous.