Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Very pleasant hotel near train and major sites.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Location: Within walking distance of the main train station and the major cultural highlights - like being in a small village in a big city.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful and gave us information and a map of the area and restaurants they would recommend. Our room was spacious and comfortable and quiet. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. A real gem in the old city of Madrid and close to the train station and in walking distance of most of the cultural spots.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Ideal hotel for Madrid's main art galleries

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Very good accommodation in the Lavapies district, and walkable to Prado, Thyssen, Reina Sofia, Botanical Gardens, etc. Staff very welcoming and plenty of authentic shops, bars and life in general nearby. Rooms very modern, clean and well appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

MADE MADRID PERFECT

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Wonderful hotel wonderful staff wonderful owner and finally wonderful free tour guide. What else can I say quirky neighbourhood multicultural melting pot....still very close to everything you would want. Experience life as a local in a pretty special hotel. Rooms very modern clean and with simple style. I missed the Artrip horribly when I checked into new accommodation in San Sebastian. Staff are friendly helpful and willing to go that extra mile to assist you. The owner goes out of his way to make sure your okay even getting a table at a great little eatery over the road. The free tour provided a great history of Spain and Madrid and all the local knowledge needed to have a great week indeed. Made Madrid for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Madrid Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, newly appointed furniture and amenities
Very nice hotel in the heart of Madrid. Staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Modern boutique hotel in a good area with amazing

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Three of us visiting Madrid, we had a triple room. The hotel is small with only 11 rooms. Newly reno'd in older area. Good location near Plaza Santa Ana and walkable to almost everything or inexpensive cab ride. Excellent service. The young ladies at front desk thought of everything.... Excellent and inexpensive continental breakfast, fruit and beverages free all day, free walking tour,excellent wifi and air conditioning... Even mobile hotspot to provide wifi anywhere you went. Room itself was a bit small for three especially bathroom. And lack of space for luggage. But we loved our stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very clean hotel with excellent & friendly staff

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Very friendly & helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained. Good breakfast
Cons: Curtain between the bedroom and hall/shower/toilet area for a bit of privacy.
Location: Poor downmarket area. No good restaurants nearby and very noisy at night. The Reine Sofia Museum was within walking distance.
The area the hotel was located in was not very good. On the first evening, we could not find a good quality restaurant, in fact, the restaurants close by the hotel were very downmarket and scruffy. The noise from the road outside on Friday night was hellish! We had to shut the windows & shutters to get any peace to sleep. The other thing about the hotel is that the entrance hall is also the bathroom! There is no curtain between the bedroom and toilet shower area so no privacy at all. Not everyone wants to do their toilet & shower in front of their partner. A curtain between the bedroom and shower/toilet area would have been a really big improvement. This could have been easily fitted. The hotel staff/reception were wonderful, helpful & very friendly and this made up for a lot. The hotel was very clean & fresh and the breakfast was a good Continental with a great coffee machine. We found the best way to get around was with a taxi and not too expensive. Pity the hotel had not fitted the curtain between the bedroom & shower/toilet room. We would have been a lot more satisfied with the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, England

Central Madrid close to the Sophia

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Design
Cons: Breakfast buffet and seating arrangements could have been improved a little.
Location: Near Sophia Gallery. Near a metro station and stops for the hop on hop on bus so the whole of central Madrid is available.
Beautifully restored old building, large all white bedroom, modern fittings. Wonderful staff, allowed us to check in early, friendly and smiling day or night. Decent breakfast, a bit short on spa.ce if everyone wants to eat at the same time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay, Friendly staff

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: I loved the fact that they had a coffee machine in the lobby. I could get a cup early, without having to wait for breakfast.
I only stayed the night, before my flight home. The hotel was comfortable. The staff was nice. I walked to Atocha in the morning to take the Cercanias to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Affordable Central location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
This is a great little hotel located in the Lavapies section of Madrid. There's a metro station one block away and it's conveniently located near the Atocha train station and Reina Sofia modern art museum. The only minir glitch was that our resercmvation was lost between Expedia and the hotel. The hotel owner took great care of us anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Metro

Posted Sep 1, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at Artrip. Staff was friendly and very helpful with answering my questions. Room was very clean. At walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. Nearby Metro Lavapies is also a good option. I would definitely stay there again!