Ratings based on 958 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Terrible experience with all the reconstruction. We opened our curtain and there was a dumpster for a view and the freeway was right there. We also had a train pass through a couple times. Breakfast was served in two small hotel rooms; one room with the majority of the food and two tables that fit up to 12 people — for the all hotel patrons. Needless to say, even when the remodel is finished, I will not be staying at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Good morning. Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Our staff has been working so hard to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable during the transition. We are doing everything possible to make our resources work for the time being. I am sorry that your room was located next to 15th street and unfortunately, a dumpster is necessary to rid the guestrooms of the old furniture. I would really encourage you to give us another try when the renovation is complete. The changes will be amazing. If not, we certainly appreciate your business this time. Happy Holidays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Booked for closeness to my function the following day. That was good, but the hotel is under renovation. The lobby was closed and the office was a regular room. Stairs were blocked and getting to room was difficult. Room was OK. I would not recommend until construction finished.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. Yes, renovations are never convenient but our staff certainly does their best in making the guest feel welcome and comfortable. I'm sorry we missed the mark with you. Please visit us again this spring after renovation completion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Found ants around the sink area and bath tub leaked on the floor some how...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry your room did not live up to your expectations and I certainly hope that our staff was able to take care of the issues you had during your stay. Our goal is to make each guest happy they stayed with us. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Under construction

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The hotel could have a better rating if it werent under construction. Guests must be notified in advance if they want to stay in an under construction hotel or not. They left us without any option and was informed only on our check in day. Not fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Hello Ions. Thanks for your valuable feedback. Notification is posted on all websites. I'm very sorry you missed it. All amenities are still offered except the availability of the lobby area so I'm sorry your experience was diminished. I hope that you consider staying with us this spring when renovations are completed. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Dalles Or.

dated but adequate

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: They are working on it
Location: Close to a lot of shopping and the venue I attended.
There was work being done during my stay, but the staff were apologetic and more than made up for any inconveniences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback, R Keith! As you noted, yes we are renovating. At this time we are welcoming guests at the side entrance due to the lobby and front desk renovation. Thanks for your understanding. Please consider staying again this spring when renovations will be complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Abgeles, CA

Nice place

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Nice hotel. I've had a really pleasant stay. Clean and odorless even though there was a renovation going on. The entire 3rd (top) floor is being remodeled. Kudos to the staff members and management. Job is well done. Standard breakfast as in most of the hotels, which is not bad. The room was spotless, with a nice view. I was hesitant to get a room here first, cause there were railroad tracks across the street. But everything worked out well, I did not hear a thing (west side of the building). The location is good also, very close to everything: shops and restaraunts. There is a big outlet mall down South, just a mile and a half. I will definitely come back whenever I'm in this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Michael we sure appreciate you! Yes, our staff is going through some challenges with the renovation as you noted, but we all have the same vision....to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and please try us again this spring after the renovations are complete. Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible room cleanliness

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was nice.
Cons: Cleanliness and smell of rooms desperately needs improvement.
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby and very close to Emerald Downs.
On first glance the room looked nice, outdated but comfortable. Upon leaving and returning to the room, we discovered we had hundreds of ants crawling all over the counters, floor and beds. We asked to switch rooms and they accommodated this, but then the second room stunk of old body odor. We were so tired we turned on the air and stuck it out but will never go here again. When I spoke with the front desk girl, she said she was sorry but that they couldn't discount my stay, refund my next night so I could go elsewhere or do anything for me as I booked through Expedia and prepaid. This is ridiculous! First ants all over our things and then a very smelly room, and the staff does nothing to help the situation, so needless to say or experience was terrible here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Good morning. I am very unhappy to see your stay was not a good one. Some of the side effects of the renovation have been challenging and I'm sorry you had to endure a bad stay. I would encourage you to contact Expedia customer service so that we can show you that we do care and that your experience is not typical of our property. Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salem or

Hotel under remodeling. Should be nice when done

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The pull out bed was perfect to fit all 6 that stayed. Geat price for what we needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Susie. I am glad we could accommodate your family! I realize sometimes it's hard to find a room that will fit that many people in one spot, so I'm happy you were able to book one of our family suites. Please consider staying with us again this spring! Our total renovation will be complete and the new and exciting changes will certainly make your stay an enjoyable one! This will include both interior and exterior makeovers, Red Lion’s Roaring Start breakfast buffet, as well as new unexpected features! Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We were in town for business. Red Lion was a perfect pit stop! Despite the fact that they’re currently undergoing renovations, the hotel was clean, dust free, quiet, and our room was comfy & cozy! All of the staff members we encountered were very accommodating and friendly! We look forward to returning and ‘partaking’ in the finished product! If you’re looking for a clean, comfortable hotel at a great price, we recommend Red Lion Inn & Suites!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We certainly appreciate the 5-Star reviews and the opportunity to serve you. I would love to welcome you once the renovations are complete. The property and amenities will be sure to please! Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Hotel was under construction and wasn’t aware when booking was a overall average experience but would have like to k ow about the loss of amenities before booking
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by JC, Hotel Management
Hi, Tim. Thanks for the feedback. Expedia does have a note that we are under construction and I'm sorry you did not see it when booking. In terms of loss of amenities, the only loss would be the loss of the lobby and business center. Otherwise, all usual amenities are still being offered. We hope you visit us again when the renovation is complete. I think you will be delightfully surprised. Thank you.