Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Base

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Good value for money with a really good location. Lots of information available, if your unsure of what to do during your stay. Also support from staff, with shuttle services, and fun activities available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and near to city center

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Clean and near to city center. Some ambent sound may come to room . It is near to a club
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Really disappointing. Young girl in reception had a snotty attitude. First room could not get access. Apparently card reader had been playing up, yet no one checked it had been fixed before issuing room. Second room was old and dated. Not clean. Lifts took ages. Would never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sherbrooke

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Ladies bathroom very dirty. Only one elevator out of 3 would go to upper levels. Had to wait for ages and cant used the stairs. Very big hostel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Crap Staff & Expedia Booking Limitations

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything! Get better trained staff. Allow booking system to book out one of the dorm rooms (however many beds that is) so not multiple bookings.
Tried to book a four bed room for two females as no private rooms left. Phoned first and spoke to a lady (Victoria) who said there were several of the four bed rooms still available so it wouldn't be a problem to book four beds and have them all allocated in the same room so that the two of us didn't have to share the bedroom with strangers. I told her i'd go on Expedia and book them straight away. Expedia doesn't let you book multiple people into one room on this hotel, where it is a dorm type room - if you try it tells you that you've exceeded the maximum number of people, so I had to basically book four rooms (really four beds within the same type of dorm room) with one person in each room. I put the comment in the special info on each of the four saying that they were to be in the one room, etc. I also then emailed the place to also follow up on the Expedia booking confirmation to again ensure all allocated to one room, and marked it High Priority and had Booking for Tonight in capitals in the subject line as well. On checking in there was a huge wait at the desk. Then got the key and info and went to find the room. Then the lift wasn't working. The room is miles away from the check in. Then get to the room and find there is a man in the room, who says he's been staying there for two weeks and no way was he leaving. Went back to the desk and waited another huge amount of time. They said there were no option to have the four booked beds in the one room! We Left!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from christchurch

place was dirty, bathroom had mould all over walls

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: lots of maintenance
Location: only advantage is close to britamart
the place was dirty, rubbish all over the place,, hallways didn't look like the had been vacuumed for ages,, our room had marks and screw holes in walls, the bathroom had mould on the walls and ceiling that just wiped off with my finger, general toilets were also a disgrace, I had a 11 year old with me so they put us under the level that has the bar and people were still making noise above us at 3am,, have booked this place again next april but will be cancelling the booking ,, wouldn't recommend to anybody this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Wotif
Room with a double bed. Nice view over city. Shared bathroom. Inexpensive and central. Very adequate for what was required.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Wotif
Room overlooking street Very serious noise till very late in the evening
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tauranga NZ

Only real positive was location

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Wotif
Very poor guest relations by some staff in particular - not good to be a kiwi in an international guest and staffed environment - very disappointing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Overall good

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Wotif
The accommodation was good for the price. Bed was comfy, location to the city was good. Car parking was a bit difficult but was ok. The shower was a little iffy, one minute it was hot the next freezing cold. Didn't realise we needed a passport upon check in and the front desk lady was a little rude about it. Other than that it was ok.