Ratings based on 1,336 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Aging property with filthy balconies

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping, the rooms are dirty and aging. Balconies are nothing short of filthy.
The hotel is perfectly located in Auckland's harbor and if you have a harbor view room from floor 5 and above, you will have nice views from your balcony. This is what I was looking after, nice views from the balcony. However, the hotel does not bother to clean the balconies, and they were absolutely filthy. When I complained they tried to justify why they were not cleaning it (spring time in NZ) but I thought the explanations were not good enough. The carpets inside the room were also a bit dirty (not hovered properly) and the tiles in the bathroom have oil stains especially near the bathtub when guests rest their heads. It is all unsanitary. Also, this hotel, despite the high prices, do not provide turndown service unless "you are in the list". What list? Who is entitled to be in "the list" ? Seriously there is something wrong in a hotel which claims to be the top place in a country and does not provide turndown strive, or clean its balconies. There are other options in Auckland, so I would not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pure bliss, peaceful and supper quiet , could not have picked a better place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We are slightly disappointed with room size for 5 star hotel. Apart from that, everything else is just perfect in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

excellent place in great location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: good feeling returning each day, staff very welcoming
Location: all local tours including the many cruises, city centre, food district within 5 minute walking distance
Close to ferry and tours, close to Viaduct restaurants, close to city centre, staff welcoming and friendly, room comfortable and homely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

First time at Hilton

Posted Sep 14, 2017
It was everything that you would expect and more, and it was the personal touches that really stood out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Everything excellent, but access is a little out of the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel nice and clean

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: customer service and location
Cons: we arrived to check in at 3pm and our room was not ready so we got given a room on a lower level.
Location: close to the clubs and bars and nice eateries nearby too.
I had my birthday here which got a bit loud and noisy which other guests didn't like . so don't plan to have a loud party here but everything else was great we got free ice to our room all night and the walk to town in heels was about 5mins .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Its closeness to all activities and establishments in the Viaduct area
Cons: The hot breakfast needs to stay hotter in the bain-marie
We were a little confused as to main entrance of the hotel coming from Custom Street. In fact we ended up in a room probably at the rear of the auditorium and fortunately met a person who said we had to go to the end of the building. The hotel though was very pleasant once we got to the reception. Room large - bar great drinks and breakfast enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Julianna

Best of the best

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel overlooking the water. Extremely clean with wonderful service. Manz and another gentleman with curly hair gave us attentive service with our luggage. Interior design is fresh and gorgeous. Huge range of options at the breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
by Neil

Weekend Stay

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely Hotel, so handy to Auckland's water front area. We always stay, when in the city.