Ratings based on 1,207 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

It's a back packers hostel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
You get what you pay for , it could do with a lick of paint and some sound proofing ,but its cheap and very basic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great location, five minute walk to Spark arena which is great and a cool park across the road. Only downside is no visitors after 10pm. This is my second time staying here and I'll definitely be back!! Thankyou
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Close to amenities but would not recommend

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Handy to shops bars etc but had terrible sleep the whole stay, walls are paper thin, the doors to the room seem to amplify any noise. The place needs to be renovated to try and reduce some of the noise!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Jul 29, 2017
I felt that I would gey dississ if I stay more. The room semel is very bad and there are many marks in evey where. the location is fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Invercargill, New Zealand

Excellent location but echo noisy

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: I actually found the hotel warm inside and my bed whilst basic, comfortable and also warm.
Cons: Please oil the squeaking hinges on the floor entry doors, and maybe put felt pads on the room door jams to quiet the sound of them shutting.
Location: Short walk to ferry terminal where you can travel to the Volcano island (Rangitoto Island) & also Davenport to see the Navy Museum (free) & nice cafe.
The location is great, close to pubs,restaurants, Queens street, shopping, buses and the ferry terminal. Place was clean and staff very friendly. Only problem is the acoustics inside as older style building, sound travels and noisy guests and doors squeaking and closing can be heard on the third floor and also from floors below and the kitchen chopping and cooking etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jucy Snooze - Auckland

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Don't stay in room #43 by the exit door where smokers go. There is no soundproofing on this room and those folks might as well be in your room itself.
Location: 15 minutes walk to Pier 1. Lots of eating places a short walk away.10 minute walk to Skybus stop
Basic room. Could be better with only minor improvements
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: accessibility with in the city
Location: very good location for shopping restaurant by the harbor
one receptionist not so good in customer service very nasty to older customer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa, USA

Wonderful budget hotel in the city

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The staff here is wonderful. The hotel is really comfy and close to queen street. I recommend it to anyone with a budget that wants to stay in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the world

Advertised as hostel on other sites...it's not.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
If you are young and looking for a hostel environment...this is not that place. The location is great, close to Brito and the wharfs and they have the most comfortable beds ever (or maybe I was just exhausted) but other than that...ehhh There is no social life and everyone staying there seemed like they were living there rather than Visiting but I maybe wrong. If you are looking for a cheaper hotel (your own room but still shared bathrooms) away from partying then I recommend this place. If you want a true hostel then find someplace else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible one, noisy at night

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Wotif
somebody loud talking and laughing at midnight, no one stop them.very terrible experence! wouldnt back again