Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Bed bugs

Posted Jan 31, 2018
My bed had bed bugs. The room was just dirty and smelly too, as there was not even a fan. The staff where mainly a bunch of hungover kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from france

Too noisy

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Was too noisy. Everyone is smashing the doors ALL night. For me it's common sens tombe quiet and hold the door when someone is sleeping. As well the noise of the street was terrible, people drunk were screaming. The guy under my bed, was moving a LOT, I couldn't sleep. At midnight I went to the reception to ask another room. They helped me. Was better but I slept only 3 hours in the night. Paying 30$ to sleep 3h and be tired the day after.. what a shame !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
I booked a private room for two. It was clean. The location was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but way too hot.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Our room didn’t have a window at all, and no AC, so it got really hot in there. I asked the front desk and they said if I came back to the front desk at 11 pm they might be able to find us another fan to put in there. I just let it go but it was pretty uncomfortable. Other rooms that had windows had beautiful Juliette balconies with French doors though, so I bet those were nice. It was great to have our own Tv though. Rare for a hostel! Also, the WiFi is only free downstairs travel shop, not free in the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelson, NZ

absurd mobile-phone-only check-in process

Posted Nov 22, 2017
check-in was a farce. On arrival the staff (well-meaning and cheerful, but basically residents volunteering) couldn’t/wouldn’t allow any check-ins except via the hotels unique cellphone “app”. I was compelled to connect my phone to their local unsecured network, download their custom software to run on my phone, and sign up to their social media system (including compulsory selfie, and scan of my passport sent to the net) before I could get my room key! This of course took 14 minutes to complete, instead of the usual “hi, I booked with Expedia, here’s my passport” “welcome, here’s your key” system that works everywhere else in the world. But there are so many things wrong with the way they force untrusted software onto my personal phone and require the social logins before I was allowed my bed, it was shocking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Excellent location. Good value for money. Not the quietest hostels if you need somewhere to catch up on rest... noise carries along the corridors when doors get slammed and the outside street can be noisy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wellington

It's ok

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We had a private room with ensuite. The room has zero air circulation, it was extremely hot. It was also very, very noisy on the level. Each time someone opened and closed the door we could hear it clearly. It was a huge bang every time. The walls are paper thin. In the evenings the club is pumping and has music blaring through the walls. We could barely sleep.
3 out of 5
by Helena

Accomodation at Nomads Backpackers

Posted Oct 31, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a room with twin beds at Nomads Backpackers and rang them to confirm our booking of twin beds. However when we got there, the room had a double bed only, not twin beds. Nomads staff, not very helpful, and could not change our booking - advising us that we booked a double bed - very disappointed in that facet of our accomodation. Location was great though, about a 5 minute walk from Queens Wharf
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Nice and friendly staff but the bed is too small
5 out of 5
by Nathalie

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you Nathalie :)