Ratings based on 846 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Convenient location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Clean and convenient. Nice and spacious, kitchen well-equipped.
Cons: Room was quite hot - no air con and the windows didn't open far. But there was a big fan.
Location: Close to Aotea Centre, Auckland Art gallery, Queen St, Skybus stop.
The only problem was at check-in. I had requested via Expedia that we have two rooms next to each other because I was travelling with my elderly mother. At check-in they tried to give us rooms 5 floors apart. I complained and the receptionist found a 'superior' room on the same floor as my mother - just lucky the hotel wasn't full. Receptionist said the request from Expedia had not gone through but still seems stupid to split up two people travelling together. Apart from that, very happy with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Central location. Staff very helpful. Clean and comfortable apartment that was well equipped. We only stayed one night following arriving in Auckland, but found the stay perfectly adequate for price paid and would return there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calne, UK

A busy apartment hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The rooms were very hot and enclosed despite one fan. It needed another. Worse still, we were woken every morning of our stay between 6 and 8 by different trucks either removing the previous day’s dirty laundry, garbage or delivering furniture and other heavy goods. A nightmare. The staff couldn’t have been more polite or pleasant. It is centrally located with quick access to Auckland city centre and the quays. Similarly, there are 2 Airbus stops close to the hotel for ready access to/from Auckland airport. The apartment is well equipped with utensils and crockery so is ideal if you want to feed yourself on a budget. There is a liquor shop, a convenience store and cafe right outside the front door. These apartments have much to offer the budget traveller but because of my experience, I will not be using it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra ACT

comfortable one night stay

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Arrived from cruise ship with lots of luggage. Very helpful staff stored our luggage and sent us off in the right directions. Comfortable night, all the things we needed. Area not so helpful for food though and although noisy, university break up, we got to enjoy their fireworks!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic but fine.

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Nothing much to rave about but nothing to complain about either. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was affordable and conviently located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Good base for seeing Auckland

Posted Jan 6, 2018
We simply stayed one night and the facilities were basic but good and clean. Room was a bit stuffy even with the windows open. Was a good hotel to be able to access central Auckland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta Canada

2night stop over

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: Value for money
Cons: No shelf in shower
Location: Downhill walk into town, but don't forget it's a hike back. Not in one of the nicest areas in the city.
Hotel and facilities were as expected. Front desk staff were very helpful and organized transport to the airport for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Closeness to Queen Street
Cons: As above
Location: Wakefield Street Auckland. Strange quwstion!
AS i said in my previous review I really appreciated Matilda arrange for us to have the room early. Staff need to ensure that the fridges are defrosted when necessary oto prevent them self defrosting overnight and flooding the kitchen area floor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Room had no a/c, just tower fan which was extremely dirty. Had management clean the fan which helped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North, New Zealand

Very convenient, comfortable

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Convenient, comfortable, price
Location: Close to University, Skybus route, and central city
Thanks or the afterhours drop box for the key after flight delays. Saved a lot of angst!