Ratings based on 2,994 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in need of a refurb not 4 star

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Was disappointed in the room. The shower curtain was mouldy and there was no in room safe. Not sure but my partner woke up with bites on her leg so maybe bed bugs. Could do with a refurbishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

17 of us.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The check in and check out staff member who was as patient as he could be considering. The cleaning lady who allowed us more towels.
Cons: Managers excuse for us not being accommodated on same floor or closer. We were on floors 3,5,7 & 9. NOT CLOSE
Location: Eight30 cafe, Eight Restaurant. Queen Street. The Amora Pool/Spa (amazing). The Amora Bar.
With such a big group booked 7 months prior to event, I would recommend emailing the manager of the hotel to explain, confirm and sort rooms. It does help them be aware, and also your group. However, should you arrive and find they did not accommodate you as hoped, it is best to just enjoy your groups company.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NZ

Booked since November 2016

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: The facilities, the check in and check out staff member who had to deal with all 17 of us.. I wish I had his name, he did amazing. Thanks
Cons: If a group books 7 months ahead, they might email so clients can give group members a heads up that we would be spread out.
Location: Dinner at Eight Restaurant (short 10 min walk). Early coffee at cafe Eight30 (just up the back park). Bar in The Amora (great range). Pool/spa amazin
Would recommend this hotel but must advise the following. We booked 9 rooms via expedia in September 2016 before all the big names/shows and groups made announcements to come to NZ for March 2017. Confirmation with emails and calls were made over and between ourselves and manager of The Amora Hotel Auckland explaining our event and group numbers and hope to be roomed within easy floors of each other. When we arrived they had to get the manager on duty to come and see us as we were booked on floors 3,5,7 and 9 The manager said because we were only booked for one night stay (being the Saturday night) they could not arrange our rooms as requested as they were full and there were guests there for longer. Booking was made in September 2016 for March 2017. 7 months prior to our event. The staff worked as best they could, for that I commend them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel - closer to K rd end of town than C

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Easy parking
Location: Bars and Restaurants on K Rd. Theatres in Aotea Sq area.
Convenient. Easy to access K Rd life than waterfront.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

nice hotel close to town but far enough away

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: its location
Cons: staff service
Location: close to city centre, plenty of shopping and eateries
we checked in early just before 11am and completed paperwork. room was not yet available which was fine with us. we came back after 3pm and there had been a change in shift. our paperwork could not be located and we were asked twice whether we had completed paperwork. finally located the papers but not even an apology or acknowledgement. hotel staff needs to be more attentive to guest needs; we travel frequently and this was probably one of few we feel was not up to our expectations. tv volume would not go lower than 9 which was rather odd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of the CBD

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Short walking distance to a good selection of eateries and bars.
Cons: I've never had a good experience with a washer/drier combined, and the brand at the Amora did nothing to improve my opinion.
Location: Bordering Myers park gave the view from the hotel room balcony a relaxing, peaceful outlook.
I selected the Amora Hotel specifically for the jet bath suite, which didn't disappoint, with the added bonus of a washing machine/drier. The room and facilities were clean and well appointed. Staff were professional and courteous, with a quick and hassle free check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Only stayed two nights. It was close to everything we wanted to be close to. The jetted tub was a little weird, as it was separated from the bedroom by wooden panels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location and easy access onto Southern Motorway
Cons: Amora should provide a Concierge Service and is now at the stage where it badly needs refurbishment
Location: Quiet CBD location. Easy down hill walk to Queen St, Civic Theatre and Viaduct
No problem checking in. Comfortable enough room with kitchenette and spa bath overlooking Myers Park. Nice breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Cons: Some of the fit-out (bathroom door bottoms) is looking tired.
The breakfast were very expensive, the room was fine but the air-conditioner was taking air via a hose through an outside window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Quiet and comfortable in a convenient city location.