Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, Nz

Great location, fantastic facilities

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The location is great only a block or so from Sky Tower and Queen St. The apartments are great, spacious, good range of pots, crockery etc. The apartments could have had a bit of maintenance (few things seemed to be breaking like the drawer in the bedroom). We would definitely stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Friendly and Helpful Staff

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: . Easy to move around.
Cons: Provide a couple of additional cooking pans.
Location: Walking distance to Sky Tower, Auckland Art Gallery, Albert Park, Maritime Museum, Ferry terminal, Bus terminal, 100 of restaurants, etc.
Whenever we wanted some help or direction , the hotel staff at the Front Desk were extremely helpful. We had early check in and late checkout without any issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great location, reasonable price, wonderful staff

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was outstanding, very helpful.
Location: The location is a couple blocks from the Sky Tower and about 15 minutes walk to the harbor. Many good restaurants nearby.
Four of us stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite. It was clean, well-equipped, and comfortable. There is a full grocery store around the corner and we cooked dinner in our suite a couple of nights. We were on the 22nd floor and the views were breathtaking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Convenient walking distance to attractions.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Friday and Saturday nights on back side of building have loud bar music up to 1 a.m. and later dumping of bottles into dumpster (4 a.m.) if your windows are open, not so good. Btw there's no a/c, but fans are provided. Sunday and Monday nights were much quieter. Otherwise suite was sufficient with full kitchen, washer/dryer and fluffy towels. Arie at front desk most helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for a hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Actually had a washer/dryer. Ours didn't work properly so they washed our clothes for free. The small kitchen was perfect for breakfast and lunch. And, despite the road work, was close to everything we wanted to do--Sky tower, boat rides, Maritime Museum, great restaurants, stores, you name it. And the staff were helpful and cheerful. We will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, United States of America

Posted Nov 30, 2016
I enjoy the stay at Barclays suite but due to construction ongoing it is hard to locate the entrance to the hotel. I had so many detour since it is a one way street and road is blocked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

Good hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The hotel is good. The price is very reasonable and located very convenient to tourists attractions and shopping centre in Queens Street. The best of all is their courtesy and helpful staff. Well done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to cbd

Posted Nov 20, 2016
I asked for a harbour view and didn't get that but got the back alleys of businesses. Dining table very wobbly. Not enough sugar and coffee supplies
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Cons: See above
Location: Good location.
We were assigned to a room on the 2nd floor in a high-rise hotel. Our room was the only room on that floor that was not part of the Housekeeping operation or hotel storage. The hallway was bare concrete and had cleaning carts parked all up and down the hall to the elevator. Although room was reasonably nice and clean, one window was permanently open and under the control of the fire alarm system and could not be closed. In the street below was a major subway construction project with lots of major heavy equipment that generated intense noise until midnight. Had we been assigned to a higher floor of the hotel, this noise would not have been as much of a problem. On the pre-printed check-in form, a much higher room price than we paid Expedia had been marked out by someone and the room number had been changed to "202". It is very obvious that we were given the worst room in the hotel because we booked thru Expedia at a reduced rate. You get what you pay for. I won't make this mistake again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in Auckland

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: location and customer service
Cons: the decor could be updated a bit
Location: Location is ideal. Walking distance to shopping, the habor and sky city
The Barclay suites is a apartment style hotel in a great location. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and providing location serves. The furnishings were adequate, but could use a little updating.