Ratings based on 2,479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

街の中心地で便利!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Cons: 空調(エアコンがない)
スカイタワー至近にあり何をするにもとても便利な立地です。 部屋にはキッチン(食器類・包丁(ナイフ)・鍋・トースター・コンロ・オーブン・レンジ等)完備、乾燥機付き洗濯機も設置されているし、近くにスーパー(CountDown,NewWorldMetro)もあり、自炊には事欠きません。 部屋・アメニティも清潔ですし、フロントの人も親切です(拙い英語でも丁寧に応答してくれました)。 今回宿泊した部屋が高層階海側だったので、オークランドの街/海の景色や、寝室からも眺められたスカイタワーの夜景がとても素敵でした。 ただし、下層階だと結構外の喧騒が煩いですし、またエアコンがない(夏は扇風機でした)のはキツい方がおられるかもしれません。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from hamilton

Close to the CBD

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Friedliness of staff and spacious room.
Cons: nothing.
Location: We went for the Seafood festival and it was in easy walking distance. Close to the CBD, Civic and Casino.
Barclay Suites far exceeded our expectations. From the time we checked in until we left was fantastic. Arie the concierge went out of his way to assist us. Legend. The suite was comfy and spacious. Parking is away from the building, but not far and is secure. Hotel close to everything you want to do in the CBD. Will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

First impressions are important

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: The location was fantastic, easy walking distance to the main street, and ferry terminal.
Cons: The room was hot - no air conditioning. One of the lifts was over scented with cheap air freshener...overpowering.
Location: Convenient to all shops and transport was easy.
We came to Auckland for our friend's wedding over a long weekend. We had planned and booked to stay for only one night but we found ourselves in Auckland a day earlier and asked if we could extend our booking. The staff member who greeted us couldn't have been nicer and was extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

メインストリートに近いホテル

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: 長期滞在には必須の洗濯機がある
Cons: シーツ交換を宿泊何日目に行うか、明確にしてほしい
Location: 上層階ならスカイタワーが見える
食事や買い物に行くのにとても便利な立地条件 充実したアメニティ キッチンと洗濯機がある タクシーやレストランの予約もレセプションで行ってくれる
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Affordable hotel close to the CBD

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Clean, comfortable and spacious. Lovely view and did not expect to get two balconies - double the outside room. Cheap for what we wanted (one night in the CBD). Easy to work with staff. Would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth

Very disapointing

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: The. Location
Cons: Accomodation providers surveying properties they recommend
Whilst well located, this property has very limited facilities, no air conditioning in any areas of the property, except the foyer. The rooms have large doors onto balconies which have to stay closed at night because of the noise from the city streets. With only a small pedestal fan to cool the room it is extremely hot. Accomodation providers like Expedia have an obligation to check the hotels etc, and not just rely on the spin provided by them, unfortunately this is not being done, and if it was it would not be on Expedias recommended list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for sharing with friends

Posted Feb 2, 2016
We were in AKL for a fitness weekend- the executive suite gad a fridge, kettle and washing machine. It was really convenient to be able to make meals and wash clothes.very handy location too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC.

Good hotel, amazing concierge! NO A/C!!!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The concierge, Arie! This guy knows everything about everything and is happy to help with dinner, cruises, tours, luggage, etc. Arie, thank you!
Cons: Air conditioning and a true king size bed.
Location: Centrally located downtown. No need for a car. A short walk to the Auckland pier and a short taxi ride to anywhere in town.
First and foremost, Arie is the most fantastic hotel concierge you'll ever meet. I have traveled around the world and have never met a concierge who went that extra mile like Arie did. He truly deserves to be at a 5-star hotel. The room, however, was quite disappointing. NO AIR CONDITIONING! While temps in Auckland are typically 75-80F/25-28C, the room was still quite hot and there were no King size beds as advertised. Two twin size beds = a queen size bed, not a king. By American standard, this hotel would have been 3-stars, at best. The suite is only suitable for 3 people, not 4. The sleeper sofa can barely fit 1 person, not too. Nonetheless, if location is fantastic and if you're fortunate enough to meet Arie, you'll be in great shoes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Great central location

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Location. Modern, clean rooms
Location: Central, close to transport, sky city, viaduct
Enjoyed our stay at Barclay Suites, room was clean, modern and comfortable. Hotel staff were all very helpful and great to deal with. Fantastic location, close to sky city and the viaduct. Biggest downside, as mentioned several times before is the lack of air conditioning, they did however provide fans which helped a little bit. Would definitely book here again in cooler weather, would look elsewhere in the middle of summer however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
No early check-in, no Aust Open tennis coverage on TV. Very hot, no air-conditioning. Charged $1.25p.m. for local calls- even when I got engaged number, but the Manager took off all calls when I complained. TV channels available poor.