Ratings based on 2,771 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd Experience

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Exceptional staff (Arie). Filthy sitting room furnishing. Very clean bathrooms and good bedrooms. Useful kitchenette. Good location. Mostly unhappy about undisclosed fee (3%!!) to pay with credit card. Shame on Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Cons: Shower head all loose on the wall and droopy
facilities more than adequate for overnight accommodation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australian

Need facilities to match the staff

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Air conditioner or room cooling
Location: Sky tower was a must see
Staff were great room was big and spacious but was very hot needed even basic air conditioners maybe would recommend this hotel for winter stay as it is a very central location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Apartments small and feel tired in need of repair

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location good and some of the front desk staff helpful and friendly.
Cons: See above comments.
We stayed 6 nights in an apartment advertised for max 6 people at the Barclay Suites. We were a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 reasonably young children). Apartment was very small. We had to leave our suitcases out on the terrace as there was no room inside for them. There was a leak from the fridge and blinds needing repair. A full clean was only done (reluctantly after asking twice) after the 3rd night. Requesting fresh towels was an effort and never once were 5 towels just given with out me specifically asking. Everything just felt like an effort and it was meant to be a holiday. Overall disappointing for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Apartment in good location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The apartment was a good size with good views in a handy location.
Cons: The roadworks outside are an inconvenience but this will improve in time. Garaging could be a little closer.
Friendly staff welcomed us to this apartment building. The apartment was a good size with good views in a handy location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Fantastic view of Auckland

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great intimate hotel-- at the edge of the CBD-- our stay was upgraded to the 25th floor with a panoramic view of all of Auckland and the bay. Small staff that was quick and efficient--helped with everything. Our suite was unexpectedly modern, more like a one bedroom apartment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

hotel review

Posted Jan 29, 2017
My partner and I were staying in Auckland for the night, when we arrived we were met by a lovely girl on the front desk, she was very polite and advised us that we had been upgraded to a tower suite room. We were provided details about the room and then left to our own devices.. When we got to our room it was a bit hot because the aircon was not working but we simply opened the windows and went out for a while and once we arrived back the room had cooled down a bit.. The suite was well presented, clean and well appointed. The bed was super comfortable and we had a great sleep. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, it's in a great part of town and it is a short walking distance to virtually everything. Would look at staying here again next time we are in Auckland for a few days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Amazing Staff, needs some updates though..

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Was checked in by Arie, who is perhaps the most friendly, professional, and accommodating hotel host I have ever met. Going to the suite, the first impression after the elevator opens on your floor, you are presented with a dark, concrete wall and dark dirty and worn grey carpet, definitely felt in-welcoming and in need of an update. The suite itself also needs new flooring, the same grey carpet was badly worn with a couple of holes, and the suite smelled like the previous tenant ran a spice shop in there so it was hard to determine whether the uncomfortable smell was from body odour or spices, but based on the smell of one of the closets, it was probably spices. The area around the hotel is seeing major construction of a new metro line and the construction noises make it impossible to keep the windows open between 7AM and 6PM (No air conditioning). Wifi is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, Nz

Great location, fantastic facilities

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The location is great only a block or so from Sky Tower and Queen St. The apartments are great, spacious, good range of pots, crockery etc. The apartments could have had a bit of maintenance (few things seemed to be breaking like the drawer in the bedroom). We would definitely stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Friendly and Helpful Staff

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: . Easy to move around.
Cons: Provide a couple of additional cooking pans.
Location: Walking distance to Sky Tower, Auckland Art Gallery, Albert Park, Maritime Museum, Ferry terminal, Bus terminal, 100 of restaurants, etc.
Whenever we wanted some help or direction , the hotel staff at the Front Desk were extremely helpful. We had early check in and late checkout without any issue.