Ratings based on 1,819 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati,oh

Nice hotel in CBD

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location, very close to main attractions, hop on hop off bus, sky tower and lot of good restaurants
Cons: update reception area
Location: City Tours,
Great location, Room had beautiful view of SkyTower. Hotel has Flight departures screen, Very helpful and friendly staff. Lily was very helpful in contacting super shuttle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Very poor all round didn't get what we thought and had to be out of room by 10 am not late check out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wellington nz

Good central location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location, walking distance to everywhere in Auckland CBD. Supermarket two doors down for supplies is a bonus.
Cons: Access is an issue at the moment with major developments making the hotel difficult to access with a vehicle.
Location: Central city location. Close to Aotea Square, shopping, restaurants.
Tidy basic hotel room. Basic facilities but everything you need for an overnight/weekend stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience in all our time in New Zealand

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: While the construction is going on (Building a subway) and no one can be let off in front of the hotel- should have an extra employee to help .
We travelled for 64 days in New Zealand and stayed at many different accommodations. This was by far the worst. There was construction on the road in front of the hotel, which forced our shuttle bus to let us off half way down the block. The driver nicely took our 2 biggest suitcases up to the entrance of the hotel. My husband went in and asked for help with our luggage. He was repeated told "car in back"- even though my husband told the employee that we didn't have a car and that he needed help with our luggage. No-one would help. Meanwhile I was down the road with the remainder of our luggage to guard, in front of a homeless man, on the street We asked to speak to the owner (manager) He never talked to us in 2 days. I was furious - we had to push all our luggage up the hill. We are 70. A few minutes later a much elder couple were having the same problem- trying to push their luggage up the hill. The 4 employees behind the window said they don't have anyone to help and they were too busy. The said sorry and smiled. They just don't CARE- a smile doesn't cut it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Central city basic hotel - comfortable

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Spacious room considering there where 3 single beds and also location with Queen st just around the corner and supermarket basically next door.
Cons: Decor could be freshened up and check in services could be improved but to be fair it was the Adele concert weekend so I wasn't surprised by this.
Location: Sky tower across the road, supermarket next door, main shopping around the corner in Queen st and a easy stroll to the viaduct and Britomart.
Central city location, friendly staff although the queue for check in was very long, 20 min wait atleast. Room was a good size as we where 3 singles travelling together so had our own bed and plenty of room around the beds and a nice kitchenette. Had a car park booked downstairs and was a pretty tight park so lucky we only hired a small car. Staff where polite, average condition but clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Not my usual pick

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Auckland hotels were full / not my first choice but a great functional & value for money stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Not as pleasant as it is made out to be

Posted Mar 27, 2017
There was no loading zone to pull into when arriving- had to drive round the block while calling reception to just get in. The staff were rushed and unprofessional. The room was tidy but had a strange unpleasant smell. There are plenty of better hotels in the area for a similar price, would definitely recommend looking elsewhere before here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for needs when visiting Auckland

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Position and price. Also a small kitchen with utensils for cooking and tea and coffee making. Breakfast available at very reasonable prices.
Cons: Last time we stayed we had a very large room at the rear of the building which was comfortable and quiet. Front rooms on lower floors are noisy
Location: Centre of the main CBD 200 metres to Sky City Casino
When we travel to Auckland by bus we find this hotel very convenient as it is close to Sky City which is where the intercity buses arrive and leave from. We often cruise so travel to Auckland by bus, walk around the corner to the hotel and next morning a short stroll down Queen Street to the Auckland Cruise Terminal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Canterbury, NZ

Great hotel close to shpping/Queens Wharf>cruising

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: In the right place for us to be able to walk to Queens Wharf. It was clean and the beds comfortable.
Cons: Provide a bus/shuttle airport>hotel>airport
Location: Location good for us as we were leaving from Queens Wharf and we were able to walk there with our bags. Eatery's and convenience stores close at hand
We were all pretty happy with our stay (7 people going cruising), was happy to see the price of the breakfasts had been reduced since our last stay here, saved us going looking elsewhere. The only thing I was disappointed about was no shuttle provided from airport to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good value, good location

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Good value - good location
Cons: There were a lot of people checking in at the same time - so perhaps more staff on at peak check in times.
This is our third stay at the Best Western President. It's a good value hotel in a very central location. The rooms are a good size, very clean and tidy and the staff are very helpful. No complaints, and would definitely stay again.