Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hospitality

Posted Jan 12, 2017
If 5 stars is best, can I give these guys 10 stars?! Wonderful , beautiful place. The hosts are amazing- warm and super helpful in every way. Breakfast was delicious Thanks John and Mel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Lovely stay with lovely people

Posted Nov 27, 2016
I'd love to come back! I booked late one night after being unexpectedly stranded in Auckland for a night. John and Mel welcomed me with great warmth (and a bottle of wine!). I slep wonderfully in a big comfy bed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. They have put so much love into fixing up this b&b and I'm so glad I was able to share in the results!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Mr and Mrs Happy - hosts at Braemar, Hotel Management
Thanks for your appreciation. Hope you can stay longer next time - there's so much more to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NZ

For something Different

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: It's different...
Location: Great for anything central Auckland.
Had a lovely stay for one Saturday night. The house was so interesting with it's history and John was so accomodating. We had a lovely wine and met some of the other guests -this would never happen in a hotel central Auckland. The Shower was great and the brekfast enjoyable. John was so easy to chat with and nothing was a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by sweeto, Hotel Management
Thank you Mel and I loved having you here. Glad you enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston texas

Charming Bed and Breakfast with welcoming hosts

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The friendly proprietors, cleanliness, home cooked breakfast
Location: The harbor and ferry is a short walk away, with an enclave of great restaurants and pubs. We took the ferry to the lovely town of Davenport to dine.
John and Mel, the proprietors of this bed and breakfast, have created a lovely environment in this heritage home. Whereas the other old houses on the block have been replaced by apartment buildings, John endeavored to keep history alive by purchasing and restoring the house, creating a bed and breakfast that retains the old world charm of the original home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by John and Mel aka Mr and Mrs Happy, Hotel Management
Glad you enjoyed our "Old fashioned hospitality" Your appreciation make all the hard work worthwhile. Thanks for coming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

A stylish b&b in the center of Auckland.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The hospitality
Location: Situated in a quiet street near a park. Its only 10 minutes walk to the ferries and the city centre.
Braemar is very well located. Its only a 10 minutes walk to the harbour and city centre. It is situated next to a park in a quiet street. The house dates from 1910 and has a very stylish interior. When arriving, you immediately feel at home. John and Mel are really very warm hosts. They are always ready to help and give advice. This is much more than just a b&b!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by Mr & Mrs Happy., Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We enjoyed your company too. Bon voyage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singpaore

Wonderful experience

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Location: Everything within 10 minutes walk or less: the Quay, the Skytower, Prince Albert Park...
It was exactly as expected based on the Internet reviews consulted and even closer to the CDB than expected. We were looking for a B&B and not for a 5* hotel, in the center but not in a tall building. Ant the welcome received was even warmer than anticipated. Good advice for the ongoing trip, and even a ride to our car rental place! Very personal and charming. Ant the fruit salad for breakfast was the best I had in weeks: all fresh fruit cut in small pieces and nicely decorated with ripe kiwis on top!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by John & Mel , Hotel Management
We enjoyed having you here too. Bon voyage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ny ny

Fantastic historic house right in the CBD!!

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Charm and proximity
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just across a park from the CBD
The inkeeper couple at this charming Bed and Breakfast turned out to be the highlight of my two week trip to Australia and New Zealand!! So warm... Home away from home. All sorts of cool details in this historic home. Two blocks from CBD to boot!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Little Gem in the heart of the city

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Very welcoming hosts who could not do enough for us. Looked after our little dog while we were out. Charming room with comfy bed. Fresh cooked breakfast at a time of our choosing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Olde Worlde ...love it!

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Position in CBD Auckland, close to restaurants, free parking, free wifi and a beautiful breakfast.
Cons: Very good value, don't change a thing.
We loved our stay here but most of all our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming or nicer! Our breakfast was freshly made and delicious, loved the beautiful old homestead right in the middle of bustling auckland but we never heard any road noise. Lovingly restored villa with beautiful antique furniture. Only 200m from a first class Japanese restaurant. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic treasure near Auckland CBD

Posted Aug 26, 2015
We were very well taken care off, late arrival wasn't an issue and breakfast was modified to our needs (celiac). Bedroom was lovely and warm, shower also was fantastic. The location is perfect, with a nice short walk through the park into the CBD. Though the price is on the high side you definitely get much more than just accommodation, will definitely be coming back to stay here.