Ratings based on 1,956 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in heart of Auckland, New Zealand

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Don't get me wrong, this is not a 5 star hotel, but it is comfortable, extremely well located (well, it was for us) in the city centre, close to transport, restaurants, a supermarket was about 5 minutes walk away and our room had a kitchen area so we could self-cater some meals. We were given an "upgrade" from a 1 to a 2 bedroom unit, which is usually hotel-speak for "we have run out of 1 bedroom units" - so we were lucky there, as the 2nd bedroom gave us somewhere to store our bags. The unit would have been a bit cramped otherwise, but we would have coped. The staff were very friendly and problem solvers. I approached the front desk attendant one morning re a can-opener that did not work, and he personally brought a new one within 15 minutes - up 9 floors. He didn't need to do that, housekeeping could have, but he went the extra distance. Well done. The only drawback is that the hotel restaurant, promoted by them via in-room advertising, is Indian. It is probably a very nice eatery and is well patronised, but more cuisine variety for hotel clients would be better. Not everyone eats or likes Indian. We don't. But there are plenty of other options near by, within a few minutes walk, so this is only a minor niggle. It could be more of one though if it were raining - which happens often in Auckland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We thought hotel was old but apartment was very clean and beds so comfortable . Staff friendly. Car parking at hotel was good. Excellent location . Would stay there again. Indian restaurant located at the hotel was the best food ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Value for money

Posted May 28, 2017
Spacious room with adequate facilities. A bit dated however. Close to CBD with ten minutes walk. Reception service was efficient. Value for money especially when we have booked a 1 bedroom apartment at NZD150.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wonderful customer services

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: I don't know I was only there for 2 nights
Location: Closed to everithing
Everything was as I expected nice restaurants the Indian food was delicious, closed to the shopping center the ferries just very covinient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Good value, well-appointed room.

Posted May 20, 2017
I recommendthis hotel. Only one complaint is that reception doesn't pick up phone when you call from room. It just rings and rings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancs

An ok stay

Posted May 17, 2017
Nothing wrong with the stay in terms of the room, being clean and adequate facilities it was ok rather being stand out. The renovation work in terms of painting the lift and hall areas did not give a welcoming feel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New zealand

Great hotel conveniently located

Posted May 15, 2017
Great hotel, close to the arena and queen street. Apartment was great size and had a good view. Good facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Posted May 15, 2017
Location: 3-5 min walk to Vector Arena
great location, missed out on parking and had to pay $25 for parking elsewhere, but arranged by motel ( there's a lesson to reserve parking ) Advertised free wi-fi but had to pay for it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, NZ

Quality accommodation close to arena.

Posted May 14, 2017
A short walk to Spark Arena, and the main shopping centre. Comfortable hotel, good amenities, friendly staff. Will be my first choice when I'm in Auckland next.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a good hotel but...

Posted May 4, 2017
Hotel was good in general - great location, decent size room. However, parking could get very tricky - very narrow. And the big BUT is the room key. It likes to stop working, and it's a big hassle for travellers who don't have their phones with them and got stuck in the lobby after hours.