Ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, NZ

Old hotel but great location

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The hotel could do with an upgrade, but for the price and location it is still good value.
Location: Right next to Aotea square and the SkyTower so everything in Auckland's CBD is within easy walking distance if you don't have a car.
The hotel is old with small rooms but in a fantastic location, just of Queen St (the main street in Auckland's CBD). The rooms were also very clean. Tross at reception was also very friendly when we were checking in. Parking is available in the Crowne Plaza next door at a discounted rate of $11 overnight or $21 for 24hrs (1 entry 1 exit) which is quite reasonable for AKL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, clean room

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel was brilliantly located just off Queen St right in the middle of the city. The hotel staff were all very friendly welcoming us on arrival and each time we re-entered the building. We stayed in a private double which was very small (almost no room to open my suitcase) but comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible bathroom

Posted May 21, 2017
Bathroom was terrible shower was the worst.. Not recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to everything

Posted May 18, 2017
Convenient to all facilities but the only complaint is too noisy on the weekend night as my room was given close to the place that people come and drink on the week end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taranaki

Nice & Close to various entertainment places.

Posted May 15, 2017
This hotel absolutely had the friendliest staff & close to a lot of amenities. If your looking for a comfy bed, shower & close to the city for less of the expense, this hotel is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Great budget city centre hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Good budget hotel in a prime location. The hotel could do with an upgrade especially the bathrooms but I was happy with the overall experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leduc AB Canada

Awesome location.

Posted May 13, 2017
The location of this hotel is perfect. An easy walk to the harbor and other downtown sites. You could have a buffet breakfast for an additional cost. My room was extremely small and expensive for what you get by western world standards, but I didnt come here to sleepYou are paying for the location. The room was clean and the bed super comfortable. In my opinion good value for the dollar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington Aotearoa

Small and noisy.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Cons: Glazing. Curtains
Location: Good location
Rooms are small and noisy, the glass is in the windows but the street sound is like thee is no glass. The owner should spend some of their profit on double glazing. Also the net curtains and curtains could do with a clean. General cleanliness of room was ok though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timaru, New Zealand

Quality for less

Posted May 8, 2017
This was my second stay here. You really can'take beat the location or price. Transport is easily accessible and there is lots to see and do. Lots of places to dine within a few metres.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very bad don't stay there

Posted Apr 21, 2017
First you need to take your luggage 10 steps up to the receptionist. The customer service wasn't friendly. The room is Tiny and smelly. When you take a shower the curtain is not long enough keep the water inside the shower so it's all ove the floor. There's no room for the luggage inside the room very tiny very dirty I don't like it.don't stay there