Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Tasteful modern take on deco design

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Friendly staff. Really appealing interiors. Very good dining experience for breakfasts and lunch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and an exceptionally cool hotel!

Posted Jun 20, 2016
The location is fantastic and the staff were simply amazing. I can't wait to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great night in Auckland

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Wonderful experience. The room was beautifully decorated with an impressive bathroom Dinner was memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Great staff, great facilities and wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Amazing boutique hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2016
A very small, cosy, boutique hotel right in the heart of the city.. Not many people seem to have heard about it, but worry not.. It's for the best.. Some places are better off for being less famous and this is one of them.. Stayed 3 nights and loved every one of them ! Would surely go again if we ever visit Auckland again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location for dining and shopping

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: location!
Cons: more transparency over room type (i.e. lack of window opening to outdoors)
We stayed a few nights at the Hotel DeBrett. The location is perfect: close to the ferry, tons of AWESOME shopping, close to the Briotmart, and lots of great restaurants nearby. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast since we wanted to explore what Auckland had to offer. Our only complaint was the view, or lack there of. Our "window" literally opened out to a tiny balcony over the restaurant (which is nice and bright because it's closed in like an atrium). We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because there was no way to get any fresh air. It wasn't noisy like we expected, but it was somewhat of a disappointment. I'm not sure we would have booked the Hotel DeBrett had we known the layout of the rooms. But we still enjoyed our stay and appreciated the spacious room, the decor, the awesome bathrobes, and most importantly, the convenient location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A well located hotel with helpful staff

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Location and helpful staff
Cons: Need to ensure rims are suitably rated and described. Also the breakfast experience was a bit chaotic - untrained or not enough staff.
Location: Excellent location by the harbour and main shopping street.
We liked to hotel and the staff were particularly helpful. The hotel is located at the centre by the harbour - most convenient. The facilities are reasonably good. We had one serious problem: we booked two double rooms, and while one room was good the other was totally inadequate. This room was a single room in which a double bed had been squeezed between two internal walls, leaving no room for getting out of bed from either of the two sides. It was wrong for the hotel to charge full double room rates for what is really an uncomfortable single room size. When we complained, we were told that no reduction was possible because we made the reservation through a booking agency! So? A different treatment if you do not book directly with the hotel? The staff redeemed themselves by providing another room on the second night. It is an expensive hotel and this should not have happened at the prices charged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Posted Feb 24, 2016
The rooms and service were both excellent. The Caitlin Smith Trio on Sunday evening is definitely worth attending - a magical evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Handy for shops,etc

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: See above!
Cons: Private parking. A sitting out area would have been could but didn't see the back of the hotel so ther may be no space.
Location: Centrally located for shopping and short walk to the harbour area.
Comfortable accommodation in busy area of Auckland. Busy street where parking was difficult, even for drop off and pick up. Very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend Hotel Debrett!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel DeBrett

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Very nice quirky hotel. Reception good & efficient. We had two suites. They rooms were nice but we had to call and request the turn down to make out a bed even though we were told it would be done. All in all a nice hotel but comparing to other hotels in the same price range, I think very over priced.