Ratings based on 2,004 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

3 days at Grand Chancellor Auckland

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Close to wharf area, CBD, fish markets, theatres, and SkyBus shuttle stop.
reasonable size room, mini kitchen, pool, spa, sauna, gym, breakfast room, free 500MB internet/day, clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelson

Very good staff on the weekend we stayed

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Only a 5 minute walk to Queen St, Sky Tower & the Viaduct
This hotel is very close to the Viaduct & also to the city itself. We would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Busy Saturday

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Requires refurb
Location: Location good but noisy.handy to casino.
To be fair this was a busy weekend with boxing and boat show but the end unit we were in was very noisy. I see they are doing some work on floors 1and 2,maybe the bathroom on floor 3 will be next?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wollongong Australia

Good location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The only place in NZ that charged for WiFi. Location was great so were staff. We arrived early, no dramas, stored our luggage. Room had lots of quirky angles. Great to have separate sitting room. Shower in bath could be a problem for some. Good places to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City hotel.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
If you're after somewhere close to everything this is the hotel. However, I found it extremely noisy being on the 1st floor close to the roads. The room itself is quite nice and comfortably set out, however I would say the lounge suites could use updating as they are very uncomfortable. The bathroom facilities could also use updating. The bath/shower is very short and narrow; I would hate to be a tall person trying to shower. Otherwise staff were friendly. No problems checking in or out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Very central to where my activities were, all with

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Very central. Clean
Location: Bars, restaurants, bus stops all nearby.
Room was adequate for the time spent in it. Hotel has no bar /restaurant but lots of facilities within a 5 minute walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Herausragende Lage

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Lage und Erreichbarkeit
Cons: Renovierungsbedürftig
Location: Citylage, Ausflüge, Museen, Essen gehen,Einkaufen....
Bequem mit dem Skybus erreichbar. Zimmer mit Hafenblick bieten ein tolles Panorama, Küche, Waschmaschine und Lounge viel Komfort. ABER Es müsste dringend renoviert werden. Gäste sollten "nicht so genau hinsehen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch.

Convenient to Britomart

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Something in the rooms to make dining in easier. Room Option - showers - Versus shower over a bath. Free WiFi.
Location to Britomart, Convenient, reasonably priced,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

standard

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Smaller than expected, no safety glass on bathroom cabinet, milk and face cloths wernt replaced after houskeeping and bed was two pushed together. Room still had everything we needed and in a great location. I do wish the staff had told us about their other facilitate (pool , gym , spa etc) overall good stay in regards to what we paid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

Pick your room.....

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Wotif
Location: The hotel is in the CBD, hence to traffic noise. We found the location top class for all the activities we did.
We stayed for four nights at the Grand Chancellor in Auckland. The first night was very noisey from the road traffic. We asked the next day if we could be moved to a quieter room. The staff were great an moved us to a room at the back of the hotel. This was much appreciated and a hole lot better. We had good sleeps after the move. Ask for a room in the low hundreds, ie 201,202,301,302. The rooms are very comfortable and they are also very clean. We will stay there again.