Ratings based on 850 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult to find and access from busy road

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The bed
Cons: Room cleanliness.
Location: On busy road but close to southern motorway on ramp
Walking into room was like walking into ship cabin. Also noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
We had to eat before we drove back to Wellington.. Pizza was not that great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close & Convenient

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Lobby spacious, Very clean, friendly staff
Having to attend a wedding very close by the Ibis Auckland Ellerslie was very convenient for me to stay in. Found the reception attendants very friendly and helpful. Room was a little on the small side but for one night was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

compact and clean

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The reception staff were great and friendly
Cons: Better pillows, all 4 in the room were the same so if one didn't suit, nothing suited.
Location: Location great for what we wanted
Room is very compact but clean. Only one chair to sit in other than the bed and it's not a comfortable one either. The air conditioning is rather noisy at night but the worst by far - the pillows were awful and stopped a nights sleep. The reception staff were great, the bar and restaurant over priced but it was convenient in terms of location so will stay there again but bring my own pillow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Varna , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Auckland Ellerslie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I've notified the Executive Housekeeper about the pillow as well as the Chief Engineer about the air condition in the room.Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. On a positive note I am glad to hear the staff had provided friendly service. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Varna Musalini Guest Relations Officer Novotel Ibis Ellerslie 72-112 Green Lane East, Green Lane
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Not getting a quiet room and hotel not taking any action to ask noisy Chinese tourists to quieten down.
Cons: See above
Location: Ellerslie Racecourse and Events Centre are nearby.
Unfortunately despite asking for a quiet room I was placed in amongst two large groups of Chinese tourists who made huge amounts of noise - shouting and talking loudly in the hallways and reception area and not being considerate of other guests. When I contacted reception about this the did changed me to a much quieter room which was much appreciated. Perhaps the hotel needs to have someone on staff who speaks Chinese who can speak to these guests on arrival about acceptable behaviour and noise levels in hotels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Very nice and clean hotel.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Cons: Transport from and to airport could be better.
Location: Hotel is outside mane entertainments.
All up very clean and quiet hotel rooms, friendly staff and good kitchen offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Pop up Theatre

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Asked at desk on checking in was breakfast included as hotel booked months ago. After looking up my booking was assured breakfast was included. (I had brought food with me in case). Enjoyed a lovely breakfast. On checking out reception tried to charge me for breakfast as Expedia bookings didnt include breakfast. All good as reception withdrew charge after explaining I had checked up on this. Overnight parking charge $15 unexpected while staying as guest.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location not so great in other departments

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The food st the bar was terrible and they did try to charge me for car parking, even though it said it was free on their website. The location for me was great as I had business near by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marlborough

A hotel were you pay extra for parking

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: You have to pay to park
Location: Plenty of traffic jams nearby
When I arrived at ibis,there was a small queue of people waiting to be checked in ,after about 6 minutes , I was the next person to be served, a foreign couple turned up and walked straight past me and got served before me , 2 minutes later I was served ,and pointed this out to the staff they did apologise, but it's very annoying when you are waiting in a queue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good restaurant in lobby

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The staff is very helpful and gracious. Rooms are small but clean and efficient. The atmosphere in the bar/restaurant area was enjoyable and it was nice to have the restaurant downstairs on our first night in town when we were too tired to go out.