Ratings based on 1,062 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Great if you're on a tight budget. Good location.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The hotel is situated conveniently at just a 2-4 minutes walking from the harbor, main shopping street (=Queen street). and car rental firms.
We had a pleasant stay in this hotel, the personnel was competent and very friendly. We knew the room was sober and that is only fair, considering the low price. Besides the bed there was not much else in our room, but the bed was fine to sleep in. We did find an old pizza box with a remaining old pizza slice under our bed, but unfortunately the food was too far gone to be still eatable :-) We were surprised that we had to pay separately for towels. The common kitchen and lounge were nice to meet with other people although like the rooms they were also a bit shabby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Students staying to go to a concert

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location was really good, friendly staff.
Cons: Bathrooms weren't that clean and our room smelt damp.
Location: Great location - close to britomart station.
We had a triple room with a double bed and a single bed on top as bunks. Room was fine and did the job, but it was downstairs and in the corner and smelt a bit damp.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk work travel visa

Cold and noisy

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed leaving and knowing that I would be able to sleep for more than 2 hours without being bothered.
Cons: Decided the type of guest you want and don't out other people around that type of guest
Location: The hill is really steep so you can have a great walk and plenty of exercise
Staff were friendly but considering the amount paid for a single room I was expecting it to be at off street level rather than a dark cold noisy basement room. The water was hot but not enough shower facilities in the area it was in I counted two on the whole floor. Given that their was a number of teenage guests sharing rooms or moving from room to room through out the night drinking and smoking and being noisy I can't recommend this hotel too anyone. I complained about the noise on at least 3 of the 5 nights. Given that I'd stayed in youth hostels in shared rooms it was nothing like that either just an unpleasant experience. At one point I had to square up to a guest at 3am to ask him not too talk outside my room. So unless your a spotty German student wanting to use this as youth club come party house I'd really find somewhere else too stay. While staff were friendly enough it seem to be a given that this sort of guest will be staying in this type of accommodation. My guess is they have a deal with a local language school - avoid
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Good for overnight stay only

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Stayed with other backpackers/hostel first like YMCA Christchurch and YHA Lakefront Queenstown so I'm able to compare and Jucy Auckland was quite a disappointment. There was no towel, didn't really bother to ask if they provide one. YMCA and YHA provide towels. There were several instances that there are no toilet tissues. It is a bit of a climb going to the hotel. Only thing I liked is that they are quite near Queen St. and Britomart Station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Comfy, large bedroom with shared bathroom facilities. Bathroom facilities could do with a bit of love. We were on the lower floor so smelt a bit damp due to lack of ventilation. Lounge and kitchen area are small but nice. Location is great - very close to Queen St and Water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Quiet part of Auckland Central

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Loved where the place was located. It was in the city centre yet like tucked in quiet part of it. Staff were friendly, the room was nice. So impressed with the toilets and the shower. they were clean and spacey. I would recommend this place and will may even stay here in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Close to town

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Shared facilities could be upgraded, shower and toilets were yuk.
Location: Central.
Single bed room, was very basic but I guess that is rejected in the price. It was kind of like a jail cell haha The staff for the most part was very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 26, 2016
People. Making noise all night room next door never slept
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth, australia

Lovely staff but filthy

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Lastminute
Staff were very friendly and helpful and the beds were pretty comfortable. Unfortunately the wall next to my bed was covered in what appeared to be boogers. There was a similar mess all over the wall of one of the toilets on our floor while the other toilet had poo on the wall, which probably explains why the whole hallway smelled like crap. This toilet also didn't have a working light. One of the showers on our floor was not great but the other was probably one of the best I've used in a hostel. Overall this could have been a great hostel if only they cleaned the walls!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for budget travellers

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
A good and simple place for two night stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very cold during our stay on July but the staff gave us a heater which made living much more comfortable. Kitchen and living room were clean and offered good equipment for cooking and spending time.