Ratings based on 1,407 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

KIWI INTERNATIONAL

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It was fairly close to the CBD.
Cons: This hotel either needs a total update especially regarding bathroom facilities or should call itself a backpackers hotel.
Location: The location was good.
Going by the website we expected a hotel but what we experienced was a single room which was more like an over priced back packers. There was no tv in the room andvthe bathroom and toilet facilities were quite a distance away down a hall way. The beds were very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Near to K Road.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: In the right area, at a reasonable price, clean and quiet and with a good cheap breakfast selection.
Cons: Maybe more signage on Queen Street to make it more obvious that it was down the drive.
Location: Probably on the most well-known street in Auckland and around the corner from another.
My main requirement was to be near to K Road and family there. Also I needed a pleasant enough hotel at a reasonable price and with an ensuite. This hotel met those requirements as I could not find a hotel on K Road. We didn't realize it was down a short drive off Queen Street, so it took a little bit of looking around. When I'd looked on Streetview it showed the back of the hotel. I had intended to get the Skybus and was pleased there was a stop almost at the door, but instead got met at the airport. Although there were many visitors in the reception area, I was dealt with quickly and politely. The room was airy, with windows open and a fan going, nice on a warm day. I was thrilled to have a close view of the Sky Tower (plus a large crane). A great shower, very large box in case one was a large person! And hot water. All good! Next morning's breakfast in the dining room was varied and at a reasonable price. Nicely cooked eggs and a large buffet for those who prefer that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from meridian idaho

Nice hotel room room

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Facilities very clean room a bit small for two person close and convenient to downtown hotell parking is 20nz dollars per night.wifi was free however you will need a travel adapter to plug in and charge your devices paid 5 nz dollar for one at the front desk. Found some of the staff a bit unfriendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Close to city but very basic

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Close to city, on-site travel desk
Cons: Make sure all advertised facilities are available; hotels are supposed to operate 24/7.
Location: Lots of F&B places, walking distance to Auckland harbor for cruises, tours, Auckland tower
The hotel is right on Queen St which and about half-hr walk to the Ferry Terminal. It is very useful for those on a budget, as the room was very small yet had beds to sleep three persons. It is clean but do not expect much else. The internet access in the room was 'down' due to a technical fault and was not cleared although we stayed 2 nights. According to the staff, this is because they can't get the technical support during a long holiday weekend. So, shouldn't I have gotten a rebate on the room rate? The best thing about the hotel was the on-site travel desk. That helped us to get some additional travel arrangements done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunedin

Pay for your own prison experience

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This place resembles a halfway house. The place is dated and decrepit. Cell no 227 didn't even have a working light, the key barely fit the lock and the beds and covers were dump material. On the plus side the staff were friendly but having them clean the bathrooms between 8 and 9 in the morning was an inconvenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value in CBD

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Hotel entrance was hard to find as down a long driveway with only a sign on low wall. Staff were helpful but there was confusion over parking as I thought I had booked a space but was told this could only be done on arrival and all were already allocated. With their advice I found a nearby park on the road. Top floor rooms needed two separate lifts to access! However the room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was within easy walking distance of restaurants and central Auckland. So overall good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Hotel is in a central location . The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Our stay so far has been great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad for price

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Not a bad place for the price. Would be better with kitchen facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beverley, UK.

Close to Queen St.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet and comfortable
Cons: Nothing obvious
Location: Near Queen st -shops and restaurants - 20 mins walk to ferry terminals
Friendly and helpful staff and quiet and comfortable room. Very useful storage facility for luggage
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from malaysia

average hotel in city centre

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: near to Queen Street
Cons: lift
Location: shopping and touring
very convenient to family without transport. central train station is near. major public transport stations are nearby.