Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Staff was great willing to help. Room average but quiet and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Awful. Everything

Posted Apr 3, 2017
If your 18 years old and looking to just drink and pass out, this is the place for you! All others beware
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room close to everything in downtown Auckland

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Easy check in, great location. Clean room and awesome staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Great for one night, right by Britomart and short walk to Viaduct.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good downtown location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
We have an interior room no air conditioning or window temperature was probably in the nineties the staff was nice gave us another room with the window but no shower
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Stinky, not sure if old or unclean

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Cons: Bathrooms. More air circulation
Location: Loud bar downstairs. By the marina. 15 min walk from train station.
It felt unprofessional. The building stunk as if it never gets aired out. Very stuffy. My sheet had some stains on it but it seemed clean. They forgot to give me a pillow and pillowcase. There's a loud bar outside the hostel. You have to pay extra for wifi. Bathrooms (ie. showers and toilets) are communal so we had to share with men even though we were on a female-only dorm floor. Bathrooms were also old and need updating; it was hard to tell if it was unclean since it was falling apart slightly. Probably would not recommend this unless there's nowhere else to stay. Then in the morning the cleaning lady berated me about how they're letting "all these people" into the country but there's not enough water for them. Still not sure what she's talking about but it made me feel unwelcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is good but that's about it

Posted Mar 3, 2017
If you are young, 18-21 then you probably won't mind it. Lots of younger backpackers and noise. People are coming in and out at 11-12 and on their phones and giggling and talking to each other. The rooms were a mess, clothes everywhere and piles of trash. It was a small room but had 8 beds and just a square of empty space in the middle. Very hot and stuffy, no fans or AC, just two small windows. Some rooms had to leave their door open with the trash can to keep it open to get fresh air. It wasn't that clean, I got some bug bites on my arm. The ceiling of the lower bunk bed was low, I'm 5'4 and sitting down I keep hitting my head or getting up unless I hunch over. No one really talked or said "hi" because they came with 2-3 other people. I'm in my thirties so I felt like an odd ball and older. I only picked this hostel for the location and because the skybus drops you off from the airport really close by. Luckily, I only stayed 2 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Position in CBD, roof top kitchen,
Location: Excellent
As someone who is an insomniac and who reads every night in bed the lack of a bedside/above bed/ or the ability to switch off main light from bed is a real disadvantage as it means waking oneself up to get out of bed to put off the light and then being awake again. This was a student hostel and good of its kind, great for young/student travelers. We were out of its age group but found it OK for just the night. we would recommend it to young friends but not our contemporaries.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Backpacker dump!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Mattresses break your back, noisy and some rooms without windows. Makes you want to check out in a hurry if the lines at front desk are not too long!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hk,hk

noisy hostel in central location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
- central location - next to a bar, with poor sound proof - poor ventilation