Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

15 minute airport drive.

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: I like the fact it was close to the airport.
I stayed at this motel over night in Feb. I found the bed to be really comfortable, the room had e/thing I needed + the chairs were really comfortable, no sagging in the middle! Even though I was in the front, road side, I had no trouble with road noise. Air con works well too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2016 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you very much!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good motel

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Staying at the Oak Tree Motel was a good experience. Found ourselves close to everywhere we needed to be. The staff were very nice and attentive. Thank you to the manager for allowing us to stay an extra hour and half past our check out time without no charge. The room we had was clean but there was a strange smell though around the room and whenever we opened the fridge. All in all we bought Glen 20 and tried to get rid of the smell in the room and lived with the smell in fridge while we were there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your time. We have fixed the smell now. Cheers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Comfortable but double glazing would be welcome

Posted Jan 16, 2016
A comfortable room and the owners are clearly working to improve the place. A warm welcome too. But the proximity to the motorway was bothersome - no double glazing, and the window at the front could not be locked in a part -open position for fresh air on a warm night. Would choose a place away from Great South Road next time. Oh, and a room for three should have three sets of everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2016 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you and will ask the landlord, Cheers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Location, on Great South Road and handy to the motorway
Cons: Wifi
Location: A few minutes walk to Newmarket shops\bars\restaurants, on Great South Road, so hand to motorways etc
Had an enjoyable stay at Oak Tree Motel. Room was well appointed and even though we looked out onto Great South Road, the road noise did not bother us (couldn't really hear it)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your time for the review. Cheers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taueanga

oak tree ok

Posted Oct 12, 2015
room was small upstairs but quite comfortable beds. friendly mgrs and ok with parking a second car thru to aftn next day - overall good value for $s and very gady Newmarket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by Ray, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your time for the review. Much appreciate your help. Cheers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 night stay

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Too much to mention
Location: Location OK
Motel past use by date Pottles of milk insufficient No shelves in fridge Ice box full of ice Only two towels provided Utensils plates etc only provided for two. Unit booked for three
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cigarette smoke caused headache, burning eyes.

Posted May 10, 2015
Cons: Get rid of or move the ash-trays outside each room, so that the smell isn't sucked through your guest rooms.
What would have otherwise been an excellent rating (for the price of the hotel) was wrecked by a room tainted with cigarette smoke. On entering the room, the smell of smoke was obvious. I tried to get rid of the smell by opening the windows for several hours, but the smoke has infused itself in the furnishings and bedding, so could not. On return home, when I took my nightclothes out of the suitcase for a wash, they wreaked of cigarette smoke, an indication of how the bedding itself is stained with the smell. The evening I spent in the room, I tried to work, but the smoke caused a headache, and made my eyes burn. The hotel keeps ash-trays for smokers outside each room. The smell from these then gets sucked into the rooms. Such a simple solution for the hotel management. Get rid of, or move the ashtrays! An otherwise excellent hotel, wrecked by the stench of cigarette smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by OakTRee, Hotel Management
We are very sorry and smoking inside the room is not allowed to but some people keep smoking inside and we did not notice that Again Sorry for that and we will keep eye on so make sure no one smoke at the room and if so, we will clean the room properly and make sure no smell remained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

the only room in town

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The location was quite central and had Newmarket just down the road.
Cons: Perhaps if the owner /manager did a review of the rooms ( a lot of staff will get lazy if their work is never checked).
Unfortunately, the weekend I needed to be in Auckland, there were many other events on at the same time. Getting a room at a reasonable rate was never going to be easy. The staff (the man behind reception) was very pleasant. The room was basic and functional - had a flat screen tv, 'cuppa' facilities, iron and ironing board in the room without having to ask for them but the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been.....for my $***.** a night I expected a very good level of hygiene. At best it was worth a third of what I paid but I guess it was all about supply and demand. Still....they need to keep the faith with their guests and even if the establishment is a bit more humble.......MAKE SURE IT IS SPOTLESS!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good destination tidy and cleanish But tired

Posted Mar 3, 2015
No security latches on windows so cooked alive. Fan didn't work and still had Asian plug fitted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and tidy

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great motel with helpful staff. Only yhing had no aircon and traffic noise was a little annoying at times but other than that had a great stay