Ratings based on 615 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Worst Hotel I Have Stayed

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The leaving
Cons: Shower temp control, no plug, sink leaks, door locks poor, paintwork shocking, expired breakfast provisions, watered down orange juice, stale & dirty
Location: N/A
Nothing good to say. Refer below - pushy cleaners who wouldn't listen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnighter

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Was great for an overnight stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

conveniant location with good facilities

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, facilaties
Cons: Bathroom and general room maintenance
Location: Resteraunts, bars
The Poenamo is a complex including resteraunts, bar and swimming pool. The accomodation is quite basic but functional. Slept well with little street noise. Staff very good to deal with. Location ideal for motorway access, good free parking. Will use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Did the job.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Recommended with bars and restaurants next door. 1/2 an hour from Auckland cbd..what's not to like? Will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whatawhata, Waikato

Poenamo

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: comfortable bed
Cons: working power point in the bathroom walk in shower instead of shower over the bath
Location: we could get to the veriouse places we needed to with ease
we really only need somewhere to sleep, but it would have been nice to have a Microwave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great central location for travel

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
It was great to stay in the hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

John is awesome!

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
As usual, it was a pleasant stay. Made all the better by the greeting and assistance we get at reception from John.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

If you want sleep this is not the place to go

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Safety and better cleaning and new furniture!
I'm usually a pretty easy going person - but this was such an unpleasant place to stay! I was put in a room at the back of the hotel, in an old building - right beside the outdoor kitchen area at the back of the bar/restaurant next door. The outdoor fridge was loud and right by the rooms window - and the staff constantly outside, throwing out rubbish/bottles/ into fridge, clanging pots and just loud till after well after midnight. Coupled with an early alarm going off at the bar around 7am and the rubbish truck arriving before 8am made for a horrible sleep. The bathroom was rough around the edges but kinda clean - the shower plug blocked so filled quickly with water. Had minor issues with the room itself (dirty marks on wall/ broken chair and TV signal appalling) - but overall I really didn't feel safe and didn't trust the wonky lock on the door.