Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Plymouth

Noisy

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Poolside bar music went to 2am even though advertised only to 10pm. Noisy people outside unit to all hours definitely wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closest to hospital which had space available

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Closest to hospital which had space available and cheap
Cons: See above comment And vanity unit was rotten with water from shower
Location: Closest to hospital which had space available
Closest to hospital which had space available. Good apart from Sunday afternoon when the beer garden below our room was full of children using the pool and their parents consuming copious amounts of alcohol, with ensuing noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Greeted warmly

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Cons: The ouside needs cleaning up.
Location: A carpark being excavated next door.
found our room outside back of kitchen and beside a cooler. Not very salubrious.inside room fine.Staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Papamoa

Great position

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Close to motorway and Northcote shops are an experience to be remembered. A mini Hong Kong with great variety of Asian shops.
Cons: Plug for hand basin would be a help
Location: See mention of Northcote centre shops
Easy to find from motorway exit, handy to cheap food outlets. Bar or restaurant food good quality pub food. Good selection of beers on tap. The only problem we had was no plug for basin or bath. Spoke to office and was told you dont need one it is built in- this was not true had to make do with a wad of toilet paper. That was the only fault.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Very handy and restaurant onsite.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location and restaurant.
Would definitely stay here again. Nice clean room, and having the restaurant meant we could relax after our flight ....very nice meal. I left my passport behind in a drawer, when I contacted the hotel, they were very helpful, found my passport, and rang me at another destination to say they had found it, can't fault this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We had 6 of us staying in one room, it was a good size and we were all comfortable. This location is nice with the motorway so close yet the motel is very quiet. The shops that are in close proximity are very good also. I would stay here again A+. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: comfortable bed. Spacious room.
Cons: Room facilities. The building itself.
Bathroom window didn't close and glass broken. Parts of fridge missing. The hotel pool party was very loud and went on for hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

conveniant location with good facilities

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, facilaties
Cons: Bathroom and general room maintenance
Location: Resteraunts, bars
The Poenamo is a complex including resteraunts, bar and swimming pool. The accomodation is quite basic but functional. Slept well with little street noise. Staff very good to deal with. Location ideal for motorway access, good free parking. Will use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Did the job.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Recommended with bars and restaurants next door. 1/2 an hour from Auckland cbd..what's not to like? Will definitely be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whatawhata, Waikato

Poenamo

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: comfortable bed
Cons: working power point in the bathroom walk in shower instead of shower over the bath
Location: we could get to the veriouse places we needed to with ease
we really only need somewhere to sleep, but it would have been nice to have a Microwave.