Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The rooms are small. The beds were terrible and I requested a new mattress and a good firm new mattress was delivered. There is no aircon and windows need to be left open which is a problem on the weekend as it is noisy. The location makes up for the down sides.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Hotel elevator was playing up. Checked in late and this process took awhile. There were two different numbers to call using the intercom which was confusing. The first one I rang was incorrect and you had to wait awhile for the intercom. When I finally got through to someone intercom timed so had to call again to get the key - not much fun when it's pouring with rain and there isn't any shelter. Bed was terrible - one side was very soft and lumpy. Considering I've stayed at another Quest close by I would have thought standards would be consistent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Room with everything

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Great for a getaway. The room had all amenities, balcony, washing machine, clothes dryer and oven (turn on the timer for it to work :)) close to all Auckland has to offer within a 5 minute walk to Queen Street, the harbour and nightlife. Check in before 5pm for hassle free check in
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hobart Australia

Over priced!!!!!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The management must realise that we the traveling public have a voice.
Location: Good location
We were charged $450 for a room that we were told "tomorrow this room is $240 as we are very busy today" What a welcome to Auckland. Spoke to the manager the next morning and he wasn't interested. On top of this we were charge parking !!!!!! Only good thing about this place is the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Above the town

Posted Mar 4, 2017
A joy to walk into a clean, light, room with plenty of space. Bed very comfortable, kitchen facilities well laid out and workable to cook a meal. Will happily book here next time we visit Taupo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Stopover

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location was good, staff very friendly and helpful
Cons: Washing machine fixed, refurbish (soft furnishings, window coverings, bathroom fittings). Queen bed would suffice and give more circulation space.
Location: Proximity to cbd ok but difficulty finding suitable restaurants (ie something other than international food)
We had been holidaying around North Island and due to cruise out of Auckland next day. We needed washing machine/dryer to do washing. The washing machine in our room was not working properly (we had to fill it by bucket), which made the task very tedious. Our room was a studio apartment and it was very small and cramped, with no room to store our bags. Although it was clean, we found it very run down and in need of refurbish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei NZ

Close to City centre and University

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Service was excellent, parking on site
Location: Was easy to walk to central city and university
Arrived after hours but service was excellent. Place was clean and tidy. Only downfall was no air-conditioning and the unit was hot due to summer. Could open doors to let cool air in though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Close to town

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location and bed.
Cons: Wager and dryer, ironing board and bathroom mirror.
Location: Town in walking distance, shopping and good food.
Check in was easy and we were allowed to check in early. The facility was clean, but very average. Kind of a no frills place. Washer and dryer old and ironing board cover so thin that when you ironed the holes from the metal board appeared as a pattern on the clothing. Very small mirror in bathroom for shaving and applying make up. No place to put any toiletries. Check out easy and allowed to store luggage until shuttle pick up. Location 7 minute walk to town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Terrible place to stay

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This place was horrible. The photos aren't even close to the room. Dated, beds with springs, no AC. The guest information package warns you of extra charges if you ask for more coffee etc. Would not recommend to anyone. trying to check in was impossible- no one would answer the phone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel close to waterfront

Posted Feb 5, 2017
A very good hotel close to the waterfront in a quiet street, walking 1.0km distances to buses/ferries etc. I had a view of the harbour and a balcony. I came up for a rock concert so only needed a night.